Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Enough already! It’s March for pete’s sake!

11 Comments

One more time.

One more time.

When I was a kid I always felt like winter was half way over at Christmas.  I know.  It is not.  But that’s the way I felt back then, a million years ago and light years away from this winter.  Oh yes, by Christmas you were half way home, you only had to get through January, then it was February and February was short, right?  And then it was March and everyone knows that March is spring!  Sure it might snow a couple of times, but the sun shone and the snow melted and you got days and days of warmth creeping back into your bones.

Right.

The record snowfall in our area of Michigan is 93.6 inches set in 1881.   No one around today would remember that snowy winter, and no one back then would be commuting to work in bumper to bumper traffic on a freeway in all that snow.  No, this winter, though it will probably end up being the second snowiest winter, is plenty winter enough for me.  People seem to hope  we break the record – we’re only ten inches away now at 83.7 inches (that’s 212.60 centimeters for those of you outside the US).  Wouldn’t that be cool, people say.

It's pretty though.

It’s pretty though.

What I say is that 83.7 inches is plenty enough of a record for me.  It’s the most snow we’ve had here in my lifetime and  I don’t need to experience ten more inches of snow this winter.  In fact I’d be fine if this last snowfall, this last four or five inches received on Saturday night was it.  Done.  Finished.  No more.  No way.  No how.  I’m hoping that I’ve put the snowblower away for the last time this year, felt the last of the cold wet stuff fall down my neck in the middle of the night when I’m out with Katie, shoveled my last chunk of ice away from the mailbox.  That’s what I’m hoping.

Even Katie thinks this is enough snow.  It’s higher than she is tall.  She can’t play in it, won’t squat in it, can’t chase a squirrel across it.  There is no reason that either of us can think of to keep it around.  So if it’s OK with all of you, we’d like to request that it begin to melt, slowly, starting tomorrow.

The only spot to play is the driveway!

The only spot to play is the driveway!

Cause somewhere under all this are little buds of green things just waiting to show us their stuff, there are little peepers waiting to sing and fish waiting to be caught.  Somewhere under all of this is spring, and it can’t get here soon enough to satisfy me.

How about you?

IMG_6029

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “Enough already! It’s March for pete’s sake!

  1. Spring is coming. It is odd that it is not warm this week when we usually get a hint of spring before the temp dive back down. I’ve heard rumor tho that is suppose to be 40 on Friday–I’ll take it!

    Like

  2. Our winter has been very mild – unusually so – but I can empathize with you and everyone east of the Rockies this year. Been there, done that in past years, and I will join you in your dance for spring. My pussy willow is blooming and I saw daffodils out there with the beginnings of buds today. If it’s coming here, it has to get to you. I’ll hope for soon.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  3. That is nutty snowfall!!
    Lily & Edward

    Like

  4. We will have have beautiful gardens this year. The plants have been well insulated all winter and will receive plenty of water this spring. We will be richly rewarded for enduring this awful winter.

    Uh, that’s a really long driveway! It must take forever to snowblow!

    Like

  5. Hope spring comes your way as soon as possible.

    Like

  6. My first winter in NE Ohio, we had over 100 inches of snow. It was, I was told, a typical winter. Snow just kept building on top of snow, and driving to work was an exercise in anxiety above and beyond my usual driving phobia. I tell you this so you know I mean it when I say I know how you feel. It’s easy for me to appreciate the snow we got here yesterday because I haven’t had to live with it through a long, cold winter. Here’s to your slow melt, and to green things springing up in a riot of color and warmth.

    Like

  7. we haven’t had the snow like you but we have had one of the coldest winters people around here can remember and we are so tired of it – I NEED to see green, green trees, green grass and lots of blue and warm skies

    Like

  8. Dawn, I do feel for y’all. Almost eighty-four inches of snow is about eighty inches too much, in my book! Dallas hates not going for walkies, and I hate the snowballs that cling to his furs. Oh, and I hate shoveling tunnels in the back yard so he’ll have a place to go potty!

    Like

  9. We agree — its enough snow already!

    Like

  10. Seems everyone agrees about the snow. Now, if we could just put our opinions to work. In the meantime, I am supremely grateful that we’ll be getting longer nights soon (even if it is at the expense of earlier sunrises, which frankly we know I’m not up for anyway!) 🙂

    Like

  11. We’ve been in Michigan for 3 years and this is the worst winter so far! I totally agree…it’s time for spring!

    Like

Leave a Reply

