Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

I didn’t get to go!

12 Comments

IMG_5654Katie here.  I gather my Mama went on a big adventure.  Yep she smells different and she smiles more and I don’t think it’s because of me.  In fact I think she tricked me!  Last Friday she was walking around just like she does every day before she goes to work.  Yep, she was in the shower and packing her lunch and stuff.  But she made a few more trips to the car than normal.  And then she picked me up!  What?  She never does that.  Usually she just pats me on the head and tells me she loves me and then she goes off to work and I go back to sleep!

Well.  You know what she did next?  She put me in the car!  That’s not so bad.  I thought I must have my days mixed up and it’s a school morning.  I like school, so I was just hanging out back there bobbing my head and thinking about the treats I was going to get and then she stopped and came around the back and I was all happy and stuff and she opened the door and it was not school!  I totally freaked out, but she carried me inside and the nice lady behind the desk told me I was beautiful and asked if she could hold me and I liked her a bunch so I just relaxed in her arms while Mama and she talked.  And then another nice lady came out and carried me into the back.  I sighed because I knew right then that I wouldn’t see my Mama for a very very very long time.

So anyway, camp was OK, they’re nice there and all, but I’d rather be home with my Mama.  She came and sprang me from the joint this afternoon.  I was very happy to see her but I didn’t want her to know that.  Wasn’t going to let her off the guilt hook you know.  So I howled all the way home.  At the top of my lungs…which wasn’t very loud because I’d been barking for five straight days and my voice was pretty hoarse.  And now I follow her everywhere.   I even howled when she went out to shovel the driveway.  Because I couldn’t see her you know.  She said something about settling down, but I know she knows that’s not going to happen.

Not until I decide it will.

Cause I’m a princess.

IMG_5670

PS:  I got a present from my boyfriend Reilly and Mama took pictures, but she can’t figure out how to download the pictures to the computer so you’ll have to wait to see what I got.  But Reilly honey…thank you very much.  You’re too good to me.  Well.  Not too good for a princess I guess.  Love you lots Reilly!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “I didn’t get to go!

  1. I am glad you gave your Mom a good “what for!!” How dare she leave you like that!?

    Like

  2. Take my word for it, Katie – your mama did you a favor by leaving you at camp. You would not have liked an airplane ride, and you would have had to do it TWICE! And while you were “there” your mama would have been paying attention to other people and you would have been unhappy because she wasn’t paying attention to you. See? Camp was so much better for you.

    Like

  3. you need to howl princess Katie – the nerve of it – going off and having fun without you – so not allowed. You know my dad was away last week in Minnesota and when he came home I was like his second butt !!!!

    Like

  4. I totally agree with you, Katie! You’re the princess and you’re the one who rules the house/palace!

    Like

  5. We r so excited to see what Reilly gave u. Bet its pawsome. Oh and Mommy laughed so hard about u barking for five days straight. Grandma says i bark 4 years straight. Lol.

    Like

  6. Bowsers, I would barked at Dad like crazy if he did that and I am only the speaker of the park.

    Sherman

    Like

  7. Ignore her for a few hours, that really works
    Lily

    Like

  8. Sorry Katie, sometimes mom’s need a break from life!

    Like

  9. Oh Katie! That is no way to treat a Princess!

    Glad you are back home on your throne, being properly tended to by your minions.

    Like

  10. Katie, my love, you sound Just. Like. Dallas. How did you miss seeing the suitcases going out to the car, though? And how did you miss seeing your food and toys being loaded in? If you didn’t see all that, you HAD to know you weren’t going. Sigh.

    I’m glad you had a nice (okay) time at “the joint.” I’m sorry you got left behind — this time. But cheer up, spring is coming, and I’m sure your mama has LOTS of adventures planned for you. To be on the safe side, though, better stick close to her to make sure she doesn’t slip away again!

    Like

  11. Katie, maybe next time, those “other people” can visit you. One person would like to scoot through your tunnel with you and Mr. Piggie again. . . and the jumps were fun. . . maybe the dog walk too. . .and. . . more summer fun.

    Like

  12. Katie, Teddy and Daphne wanted me to tell you that they think you are lucky going to camp while your mom and dad are away. Their dad calls it going to doggy jail! I say no, no, it isn’t jail – its the doggy motel! I think they believe their dad, not me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

