Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Yearning

14 Comments

You remember summer don’t you?  Remember what it smelled like?  How the heat warmed your face when you looked up into the sky?  The sound of frogs chattering in the evenings?  I’m missing summer.  So much.

Snowy road

Snowy road

And it’s not like we’re done with winter yet.  Not nearly.  I understand feeling this way in February when there are dashed hopes of little green bits poking their way up out of the snow.  Or the mud.  I’m used to being frustrated as snow squalls fly in March and sad when the last ice storm bends our trees in April.  But today it’s still only January, and we have such a very long way to go.  I miss summer.  I want to go camping with my Katie-girl.  I want to spend a warm humid night listening to deer crash around in the woods.  I want to wander under the stars without wearing 16 layers of heat trapping wool.  I want to roast marshmallows.

I even want to swat a mosquito.

I’ve begun to think about camping in a real campground, perhaps in a state park, somewhere further away from home this summer.  I search the internet and investigate parks, what they have to offer, what the sites are like and I realize I will have to reserve a spot soon in order to camp on a weekend.  I guess I’ll randomly choose a park and a date and hope it doesn’t turn out to be a stormy weekend.

Summertime camping!

Summertime camping!

So which park do you all think I should choose?  I’ve thought about Hartwick Pines, about 4 hours north, which has trails to walk on.  Or maybe I should try to camp at a park on a lake, maybe even a Great Lake?  Of course there are state parks closer to home, one a couple of exits up the road.  Still…it’s just as much about the travel as it is the final destination.

You know Katie is always up for an adventure.  I can’t even  say the word ‘camping’ right now because she gets all excited and when we don’t go right away she is so disappointed.  But I’m sure she’s pining for a little outdoor fun too.  As I’ve said it’s been a long winter.

Did I just hear a mosquito?  Darn.  It was only in my dreams.

Snow!

Snow!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “Yearning

  1. Make a list, close your eyes, point blindly, make a reservation.

    Like

  2. Any destination will be better than a cube farm!
    Why are you limited to just one?

    Like

  3. The pines one sounds perfect to me! Of course for me, the word ‘north’ gets me all excited for some reason. “North” simply sounds adventurous to me. I’ve been purusing cabins in the Adirondacks myself. In fact, I must remember to go back and actually book it before it’s too late.

    OUr local seasonal pizza place posted on facebook that there are only 62 days until they open for the season! Over 500 people liked that post. I guess we’re all ready for a taste of spring!

    Like

  4. It’s been the hardest winter, even in the south. I’ve never had to cancel so many dog classes for weather ,as I’ve had to this winter.

    Like

  5. I like summer too, but the last thing I dream about is mosquitoes! 🙂

    Like

  6. The word “camping” just isn’t in Dallas’s vocabulary. We’re not big on sleeping outside, especially if there are mosquitoes around. But I know just what you mean about dreaming of summer — this winter seems especially long and harsh, so warm breezes are definitely on my mind. Instead of traveling north, though, I think if I were you, I’d be heading south — perhaps as Spring nears? I’ll bet Katie would love it, too!

    Like

  7. I’m with Judy; you can keep the mosquitoes 😉
    I really like the campground at Hartwick Pines – it’s very peaceful. But also nearby is a campground at Lake Margrethe, which has lots of sites on the inland lake. But if you’re coming all this way, I can’t recommend Orchard Beach State Park enough. It’s not closed in like a lot of campgrounds. It’s perched up above the big lake with astonishing views. Okay…now I want to go camping! (Still don’t want the mosquitoes!)

    Like

  8. I say do lots of zoomies in the snow. Or camp inside the house where it is nice and warm
    Lily

    Like

  9. We are certainly hanging out for spring/summer to arrive. Winter is just to plain old boring. It is depressing – everything is brown (or white up your way) and it’s too cold. We agree – close you eyes and stab….nothing like a bit of randomness in our lives 🙂

    Like

  10. I am so there with you sista! Missing summer badly. So tired of the frigid cold this year, and no real January thaw to speak of.

    Like

  11. Have you ever considered going with Katie to doggie-people camp? Or are you seeking a more peaceful vacation? I’ve never done it but I have had several friends that have taken their pups and had the best time–fun, games, adventures, and training. Your dream sounds lovely and completely doable.

    Like

  12. Dawn, I’m thinking about spring and longing for the open road, so I can relate to your yearning for summer and camping. The other day, in a fit of cleaning, I cleared out several dresser drawers and unearthed a couple of little notebooks (about 6″ tall) full of travel notes from trips up into Canada and the U.P. in 2005 and 2006. I read a lot aloud to David, and it was like we were having the trips all over again.

    Like

  13. Go south, and go early. Go a lot south, and go a lot earlier.

    Like

Leave a Reply

