Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Wide weekend spectrum

8 Comments

Aunt and the UM bell tower

Aunt and the UM bell tower

It’s Monday night and I’m just finding time to tell you about our weekend.  I seem to be perpetually behind.  Obviously I’m spending way too much time at work.  Yea, that’s it.

Saturday evening husband and I attended the University of Michigan’s Collage Concert.  You’re heard me talk about these concert in past years.  It’s bits and pieces of symphony, band, small groups, soloists, dancers and actors who perform one after the next, each in their own spotlight, the light bouncing from one side of the stage to the other, then focusing on the larger groups, and back to individuals.

Lots of talent

Lots of talent

Every person was playing, singing, dancing or acting their hearts out.  Each gave their art their absolute best.  The combination was fast paced, magical and eclectic.  It’s wonderful.  Where else could we hear an alto saxophone solo playing the contemporaryThe Brass Violin by Creviston, transitioning into a chamber choir singing Ubi caritas by Mealor (sung at the royal wedding in 2011).  I give you these two examples just to show you how divergent the works were that we enjoyed.

We heard bits of an oboe sole accompanied by a soundtrack of a poem complete with the sounds of birds, a jazz ensemble playing music that had us all tapping our toes and nodding our heads, followed by six men playing classical bassoon while wearing glittery jester hats, followed by 4 trombones playing a crazy contemporary piece followed by the soft tones of the chamber choir again.

Pretty details

Pretty details

It keep us engaged.  It kept us looking excitedly for the next spotlight.  Where else could we have ever hear a full symphony play a version of “Rhapsody in Blue” woven delicately with the University of Michigan fight song?  I ask you where?  Only in Ann Arbor.

It was fun.  It was crazy.  It was beautiful.  And I was more than a little sad when the symphony began the familiar strains of Ravel’s “Bolero” because I knew that was the last piece.  I’ve said it before, but it is truly amazing to witness that much talent all on one stage, all in one night.

We drove home in a lull between snowstorms happy and tired.  We fell into bed late, anticipating a slow lazy Sunday morning.  We did not factor in Katie.

Playing!

Playing!

Katie woke me up at 5 a.m.  She had to go out.  I did the usual “GO LAY DOWN!” She did not.  Though I tried again, in the end I got up and we went outside so she could pee.  Shortly after coming back inside, with me back under the warm covers she asked to go out.  Again.  I got up  and we went back out.  Again.  And again a few minutes later…and again…and again.  I went out with her 11 times in 4 hours.

Eventually even I had to realize this was not normal and I got a few samples for the vet.  We took her to the local emergency after hours vet (because why would this occur during regular vet hours?) along with her samples.

They took her in the back to weigh her and try for a more sterile sample…and then we waited.  Katie waited in her Dad’s lap where she is most comfortable when she is in a scary place.

Sleepy little sick girl

Sleepy little sick girl

She was so tired and stressed she fell asleep in his lap.  I wished I could do the same.  Shortly the results were back…she has a urinary tract infection.  We got her meds, paid the $300+ bill, and headed home.

She settled in at home as if just going to the vet made her feel better.  She got her first pill and seemed to be as good as new, though that doesn’t seem possible.  She got her second pill late Sunday night and slept through the night.  Today she seems pretty much her normal self.  So I’m happy we didn’t wait till normal office hours today since she got relief so fast.

Still…it was a crazy weekend and I woke today sorely wishing it was a 3 day weekend.  Katie says she wouldn’t have minded another day with everyone home either.  But she’ll wait till next weekend to go to the park..given it’s stinking cold here…record lows predicted for tomorrow.

I sure wish we could all stay home and be nice and warm tomorrow!

Snowy

Snowy

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

8 thoughts on “Wide weekend spectrum

  1. The Ubi caritas gave me goosebumps…so did the picture of Katie attacking her ball, for different reasons. Thanks for sharing! Glad to hear Katie is better, she just knew that you guys had $300 too much in your budget this month. Dogs are insightful that way.

    Like

  2. Sounds like your weekend was of the “win some, lose some” kind, too. Glad Katie-girl is feeling better. Having seen Dominique’s behavior improve markedly after one day of antibiotics, I can believe Katie felt better almost immediately, too. Stay warm down there! And watch that fuel gauge. I have an acquaintance up here who’s going through her first year of home ownership. Fuel gauge doesn’t work, and she thought they were good since they were topped off three months ago 😦

    Like

  3. Sometimes a mental health day is a necessity.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  4. I could hear you smiling as you wrote about the concert. What an uplifting way to spend a night!

    Glad that Katie got relief so quickly. UTI’s are so painful, poor thing.

    Fingers crossed that if we get thru this week, warmer temps are in our future. Have you noticed the days getting longer and longer? That’s a good sign!

    Like

  5. Poor baby. Glad the doctor gave you medicines to help your tract
    Lily

    Like

  6. That picture of Katie playing with all her teeth showing — kinda cracked us.

    Sorry Katie didn’t feel well — glad she got some medicine to help.

    Like

  7. Poor little princess — I figured that was what she had, when you described how often she had to “go.” UTI’s are no fun. Dallas suffered through a bladder infection recently, and you ought to try catching a sample from a boy-dog!!
    Sounds like a wonderful concert, though.

    Like

  8. I’m glad Katie is feeling better. I’ve had a couple of UTI’s and the one time, I would have sold my soul to the devil for relief. Now you can buy peridium over the counter. Thank goodness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

