Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Weekly photo challenge: Window

27 Comments

This week the WordPress photo challenge is something I have always really liked.  It’s window.   As soon as I saw the word I was excited; there are so many options with a word like that.   I think back and realize I’ve shown you lots of different windows in previous blogs.  Here are a few I remember off the top of my head.

There was a blog about Washington DC last spring where I showed you all kinds of windows.

There was a  window in my blog about the family farm.

I used the reflection in a window for a previous photo challenge,intended to represent ‘inside.’

And of course not too long ago I asked you what was outside your window.

So I was a bit stumped about where to go to find a window I’d never shared with you before.  As you know I like nothing better than to go on a little road trip looking for a photo, but the weather here is less than perfect and the roads aren’t perfect either, so I’ll have to settle for something close to home.

There’s a village cafe in the next town over.  Sometimes I drive to work though the town and notice the warm welcoming light shining through it’s front window.  So this morning I drove over to see what might be photographed.  And I ended up with this:

Morning at the cafe.

Morning at the cafe.

You notice the warm light first, but if you look carefully, through the picture window, you might see the waitress in white taking an order, or  a woman in a booth holding her face in her hands.  Perhaps she’s reading the morning paper, or maybe she’s contemplating her coffee.  Windows often allow part of the story to emerge while leaving the rest of it up to our imagination.

Go to the WordPress link above and see what other window entries have been submitted.  I think you’ll find several you like.  I liked this one and this one and this one, last time I looked.  There are many more now.

And look again outside your own window.  I bet the view has changed some since I last asked you about it.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

27 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: Window

  1. Love it! I just saw a very similar photo on facebook today – one taken through the window of a barbershop (not sure if this link will work)

    You’re right, my window view has changed quite a bit. No more snow after a big thaw & rain yesterday. This time of year is very dynamic out my window.

    Like

  2. My view has changed a tiny bit since the last time you asked–still snowy and cold, though. 😦 What a great idea for a prompt. I love your warm lights in the window and the woman cupping her face—i think she is contemplating what to do next on her to do list. 🙂

    Like

  3. Love it! Reflections draw me in. The reflection of the bare tree branches intersecting the woman’s face make me think Stephen King kinds of thoughts – there must be a tale to tell.

    Like

  4. I am thinking a nice bowl of hot soup with a crunchy bread roll….. 🙂

    Like

  5. Really cool shot. Mom loves windows too
    Lily

    Like

  6. Pawsome photo. It was interesting how u pointed out the person sitting in the booth. We didnt see that at furst glance.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Window (6) Nepal and Tibet | What's (in) the picture?

  8. Oh fun~~you did the window challenge, too. I had to look closely to see the waitress and person inside. It does look warm and inviting. Windows are such fun peeks into new worlds, indeed. Somehow it’s the frame that pulls us in.

    Like

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Window | Joe's Musings

  10. Your window picture makes me want to get eggs at a diner 🙂 And pancakes with blueberries.

    Like

  11. Love your new header of Katie wearing snow!

    Rain is pouring outside my window today. That presents a problem with a long-haired dog, as you know. And I’m very cat-like when it comes to being wet, ha!

    Like

  12. I love this, Dawn. It looks so welcoming with those warm lights. 🙂 Outside my window right now there are streaks of blue and white in the sky, and loblolly pines swaying in the wind.

    Like

  13. You have a vivid imagination to go along with your sharp eye, Dawn. Thank you for this fascinating window into another world.

    Like

  14. Well…my icicles are gone–replaced by the Camp-Run-A-Pup lake. My paperwhites are blooming on the inside ledge tho and are very pretty making up for the cold outside the window. I’m going to have write this post too—I really do like it. The window that you posted is such a good example of what we can catch behind the panes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

