Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Snow!

32 Comments

Waiting for summer.

Waiting for summer.

We’re getting a ton of snow; they’ve been warning us about this storm system for days.  Yesterday the local grocery stores ran out of food.  Literally.  Many shelves were so empty the whole thing ended up on the evening news because some people waited for up to an hour just to get through the checkout lanes with what little they could find.

The amount of snow we got...BEFORE the heavy snow started.

The amount of snow we got…BEFORE the heavy snow started.

During the night we got 5 or 6 inches of snow…and that’s the first ‘light’ part of the storm.  Husband and I used the snow blower to clear out the driveway in preparation for perhaps another 8 or 10 inches that is coming this afternoon and tonight.

Pushing through the snow.

Pushing through the snow.

Earlier Katie and I went to play in the backyard.

How deep is this snow Mama?

How deep is this snow Mama?

But the snow is up to her chest and she decided she wasn’t having that much fun.  She bunny hopped her way back to the deck and now she’s napping.  It will be a good afternoon for naps or baking or perhaps doing a bit of laundry.

Only bringing this back ONCE Mama!

Only bringing this back ONCE Mama!

Tomorrow’s commute to work will be interesting.  Might as well enjoy the beauty of it now, there will be lots of time to curse it later.

Imported Photos 00032

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

32 thoughts on “Snow!

  1. There is always an excitement to big snow storms for me – until it’s done and I have to deal with the aftermath. Your part of the world is certainly getting more than its share of winter this year – on our side, we desperately need water, but I’d prefer it be rain.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. We got to play in our snow today! It’s in the mid thirties and feels fantastic!

    Hope they get the roads all cleared out before your morning commute. Nothing worse than starting your week with a slow ride in.

    I really don’t understand the selling out of food thing. We’ve never been plowed in completely. But every time, people panic.

    Like

    • Warm here too. Guess I should have made a snowman! Katie didn’t really like it so deep. I see Oreo and Chewy’s Dad (or Dad and Mom) made the a virtual race track in the back yard!

      Like

  3. That’s a lot if snow already!

    Like

  4. Feel free to send some of the white stuff to Alabama. they’ve predicted a low of 7’F tomorrow night. If it’s going to be that cold, shouldn’t we be allowed to have some snow to play it?

    Like

    • It’s going to be way too cold for you guys down there. Your houses aren’t built for those kind of temps. I remember visiting my folks one Christmas when we sat huddled around the fireplace with blankets! I’ll send you some snow. We have plenty to spare.

      Like

  5. Uff-dah!

    Like

  6. I think I would be taking the day off !

    Like

    • Would love to. But they made us use up almost all our vacation days by the end of the year so I don’t have a lot to spare. We’ll see how tomorrow looks.

      Like

  7. you might not even have to work tomorrow. As you know we are getting the same. It is GREAT snowball and snow man snow because it is soooooo heavy! I just went out and cleaned off the car and that is it. Be careful because the sub-zero temps are coming next. I am glad to see that Katie doesn’t wear boots either, now I don’t have to feel guilty. Do you wipe her paws off with warm water when she comes in? I have started doing that with Dakota because everyone says I should, just wondering. Keep warm!

    Like

    • No I don’t have boots for Katie…when it’s really cold (like it’s been this past week, down near zero, I carry her out to her spot, she does her job and asks to be picked up and I carry her in. I don’t think her dad carries her though, she just does her job and runs back in. I think she’s playing me. I don’t rinse her feet either…what is that supposed to do for the dog? We just don’t let her play that long out in the really cold…and she’s not that athletic so she doesn’t want to run around that long anyway. Wimp! 🙂 Have considered boots, but have never put boots on a dog…and so far so good.

      Like

  8. Dawn, I don’t miss this one tiny bit! Shelties are soooo much easier without snowballs clinging to their furs and ice dripping from their paws. Thanks for reminding me what I’m (NOT) missing — stay safe out there!

    Like

    • Yea, she’s not bad this time around, but we’ve had winters where she’s one giant snowball when she comes in. She sits out in the tile entryway and cleans herself up pretty good though. She doesn’t seem to really want to romp around that much in this particular snow storm. Guess she’s growing up. 😦

      Like

  9. Wow! That’s some snow. I hope your commute isn’t too bad. Stay warm. I hear it’s frigid up your way.

    Like

    • Thanks Robin. I’m not looking forward to the commute but don’t want to waste a precious vacation day sitting here looking at snow. We’ll see how bad it is in the morning. It’s still snowing heavily. We’re over 10 inches so far. Would have LOVED this as a kid.

      Like

  10. We should try playing frisbee in the snow. Looks like fun.

    Like

  11. I’m grateful the bulk of the snowy cold weather is coming after my holiday rush—-I love weather but we’ve had little too much to early in the season. Good luck tomorrow. Wish you could work from home.

    Like

  12. Fantastic snow and a lot of it. Have fun
    Lily

    Like

  13. All that snow looks like it would be lots of fun. Stay safe and warm.

    Like

  14. Great attitude; enjoy it now 🙂
    Wondering how much you ended up with in total? Stay safe and full!

    Like

  15. I hope you commuted safely today, Dawn. We’ve got the cold, but not as much snow as you. (Although we probably have more on the ground to start with.) Stay warm, my friend! (you, too, Katie.)

    Like

  16. I tried to get out, got stuck…got back home. Husband finally drove me to work. It was horrible. Can’t wait to do it again tomorrow. Wind is blowing now and roads are drifting over tonight.

    Like

  17. The snow pictures are so beautiful! Have fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

