Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Relief from winter

10 Comments

Katie here.  You know how I’ve been thinking that maybe my Mama didn’t love me anymore because she’s never around much?  Well I was wrong!  HA!  Mama took me to the park today!  It’s been  forever since I’ve been at my favorite park and today Mama said that since it was so warm – 44 F (6.66 C) – and there was sunshine too that we just had to take advantage of the break from winter cold and go for a walk!  WOW!  Did she say GO FOR A WALK?   I’m ready Mama!  (Mama says click on any picture to see more detail.)

Imported Photos 01604

So off we went.  I just love this park.  And because it’s winter it’s not even officially open.  We have to park in a different spot and walk in, but that’s OK, just means fewer doggies are there.   Mama said there had been a big dog there earlier in the day because she saw these really big paw prints in the snow.  But we didn’t see anyone while we were there.

Imported Photos 01589 (Small)

Sometimes Mama let me be off leash, like when we were practicing my recall.  Which, if I do say so myself, is pretty darn spectacular.

Imported Photos 01586

Other times I still had the leash but Mama got busy taking pictures of other stuff and I got to wander around a bit.  In fact once when Mama was busy taking pictures of boring grass I wandered right off the path.  She told me “NO!  Katie come HERE!” and I told her that sometimes a girl just has to explore a little bit.  Geesh.

Imported Photos 01591

Anyway, we had a wonderful time.  I walked almost the whole way.  It was harder to walk in the snow than on grass, and near the end I asked my Mama to pick me up.  My Daddy says I’m a wimp.  But I didn’t see him slogging around out there in the wet snow!  When we got home I told him all about our adventure.

Imported Photos 01636

Then I sat on the sofa next to my Mama.  I did not go to sleep.  I was just resting my eyes.

Imported Photos 01660

Oh who am I kidding.

Imported Photos 01664

I needed a nap.

Imported Photos 01639

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “Relief from winter

  1. It’s okay Katie, all of us need naps sometimes. Especially after all that exercise.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. You mom is so sweet, Katie! She takes beautiful pictures of you too!

    Like

  3. Ah….finally…..a nice walk in the park. A perfect way to spend the day and the perfect way to end it with a nice nap

    Like

  4. Comment from Sara: For some reason, your blog won’t let me post a comment so here it is….What a perfect winter walk! Bright blue skies! I bet there were lots of cool new smells just waiting out there for you Katie

    Like

  5. The snow shows that one path was walked a lot. You see so many different prints when the snow is on the grown. We posted about our new scottie socks today. Lee said when she wears them she is walking all over me. Lee loves the socks. Thank You Dawn and Katie.
    Thanks for being a friend
    Sweet William The Scot

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nothing better than a brisk walk or frolic in the snow and then returning home to the couch or a favorite chair and snuggling with the one you love Katie! The snuggling in at home sounds wonderfully cozy.

    Like

  7. I would have needed a nap after that kind of walk, too. 🙂

    Like

  8. I suspect you earned that nap, Princess! Looks like a fun time, though COLD!

    Like

Leave a Reply

