Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Weekly Photo Challenge – – One

12 Comments

This week the WordPress photo challenge is  One.   We had an ice storm Saturday night and I decided to take advantage of the sadly beautiful devastation in my own backyard to show you my interpretation.  You can click on any photo to see more detail.

Many of our trees are hanging in low curves over the bird feeder.   Sunday the birds tried hanging out on ice covered twigs only a few feet from my window while waiting their turn at the feeder.  I thought this solitary finch was perfect for the concept of one.

ice goldfinch edited

I thought about stopping there, but I had a plan, even before the ice storm, to hang a single holiday ornament on a tree in the yard.  I thought I’d wait until after the storm and pick a snow or ice covered spruce.  But Sunday morning I couldn’t resist using the ice on our toppled birch tree as a foil against the red.

Imported Photos 01665

The ice is beautiful, but my heart aches for the loss of our lovely birch trees.  They’ve all been damaged, most will have to be cut down this spring.  I’ll have these images as memories of how beauty can be so damaging.

ice cardinal edited

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – – One

  1. I think you met the challenge. Sorry about your trees, but I really like the ice photos.

    Like

  2. It is beautiful, but the loss of your trees makes it bittersweet. I hope your birds are making out ok.

    Like

  3. Love the one with the bird. It’s just so peaceful looking. Sorry about the trees.

    Like

  4. Your photos are beautiful, but that really is too bad about the birches. Perhaps they will show some signs of regenerating in the spring time.

    Like

  5. It is sad to lose the trees….

    Like

  6. Beautiful photos! Sorry about your trees 😦

    Like

  7. These are truly beautiful “One” images, Dawn. But it’s so hard when our precious trees are lost in these ice storms.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: One « blogagaini

  9. Mother Nature can be so cruel, can’t she? I’m sorry about your trees. Birches really aren’t meant to carry blankets of heavy ice. Maybe they can be salvaged, after all?? Hope your Christmas is merry anyway — stay warm, Dawn!

    Like

  10. Although ice storms are nasty and dangerous, they do make things amazing. Nice captures and I hope your powers restored.

    Like

  11. Wonderful shots and perfect for the theme! I’m late for this challenge, but I really like the idea. Might have to just stock up on some photo challenges and try to do several at once sometime soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

