Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Ice cream in November

21 Comments

Chilly little calf

Chilly little calf

It’s cold here in Michigan.  Really cold. (20 degrees F  which is -6.66 degrees C).  We have been spoiled with a very mild fall…

I'm looking at you

I’m looking at you

…but I think winter has finally arrived.  And what do we do to celebrate winter?  Where do we go when our toes and fingers go numb on the daily walk?  What do we do the day after Thanksgiving when the world seems to have gone shopping?

Got any ice cream for me?

Got any ice cream for me?

We visit the local dairy farm and get extraordinary ice cream!

A four legged ice cream maker

A four legged ice cream maker

Of course…don’t you?

Sweet.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

21 thoughts on “Ice cream in November

  1. Oh my goodness, they are adorable!
    So what did you think of NaBloPoMo? I’ve never done it. Challenging?

    Like

    • I didn’t find it too bad…but I had such a busy month there was so much to share. Pick a month without a holiday and a vacation and it would be more difficult.

      Like

  2. Congrats on successfully completing NaBloPoMo — bet you’re relieved that’s over, ha! Ice cream after Thanksgiving? Yep, that sounds practically perfect — and with such a cute ice cream maker, why not?!

    Like

  3. Love those black and white faces! Ice cream is good any day!

    Like

  4. That sounds like a wonderful tradition, Dawn. What I did the last two mornings was add whipped cream (from T-Day’s pumpkin pie) to my morning coffee. That was good, too.

    Like

  5. Mmmmmmmmooooooooo – what could be better then homemade ice-cream from cows with spots

    Like

  6. Oh dear dog that’s cold – Faith sends thoughts of a Kiwi summer your way.

    Like

  7. Mommy is going all squee over the cow and piggie. Adorable she says.

    Like

  8. Liking the way you think. We have to break out of possible ruts before winter gets us in a big rut. Yum!

    Like

  9. Any time of year is a good time for ice cream. Just maybe something like peppermint or pumpkin in November?

    Like

  10. The cow’s are cute. But they look like they live in dog type houses.

    Like

    • The calves were in their own little ‘cow houses’ sort of like dog houses. I don’t think they stay there all the time (I hope!). I’m guessing they go into a barn most of the time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

