Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Weekly photo challenge -layers

25 Comments

When I saw the weekly photo challenge was ‘layers’ I immediately thought of a watercolor piece of art and how the layers of paint create the image.  But I don’t have a water color available right now to show you.

Then I thought of  the layers of clothing that runners wear now as the weather gets colder.  But I couldn’t think of a creative way to show you that.

I even thought about the bark on some trees I saw in California last week, the colors there were layered and the bark was peeling off.  Interesting and pretty but not exactly what I wanted.

Then I thought about the saying we use when we’re trying to get to the truth – to peel away the layers like an onion – and I knew what I wanted to do.

Off to the grocery store I went to collect some onions, many sizes and colors, layering in the texture and interest…with one large red onion cut to more explicitly express layering.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo there you  have it.  My interpretation of layers.

Time to make some soup now.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

25 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge -layers

  1. Love your interpretation. I never really though of onions as being pretty, but they sure are in that photo!

    Like

  2. I love onions – each layer of it!

    Like

  3. I think Mommy ‘s eyes are watering from the onions!

    Like

  4. All that layering makes me misty eyed

    Like

  5. Pingback: weekly-photo-challenge-layers #photography #poetry | Moondustwriter's Blog

  6. Dawn,
    I bet no one else thought about that! Great photograph! Hey, it’s much better than the layers luminous leg-it’s wear when our and about!
    Pippa 🙂

    Like

  7. Excellent interpretation!

    >

    Like

  8. Good job — an onion definitely is in layers!

    Like

  9. Mmmmmm…. I have a wonderful recipe for French Onion Soup on the blog if you’re interested! 🙂

    Like

  10. I know those trees you talked about! They are cool!

    Like

  11. Pingback: Layers of nature | Processing the life

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Layers; Brussel sprouts | Words 'n Pics

  13. Nice interpretation of layers, but the dog…oh, my, what a beauty. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

