Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Between here and there

7 Comments

It’s quite easy to see the beauty of the ocean or the giant trees; easy to see the photo opportunity in beautiful canyons or majestic mountains.   When you’re traveling you’re always looking for that outstanding photo, the one that tells the big story.  It’s easy to miss all the little things when you’re going from here to there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On this California trip the place between the big photos was mostly farm.  And just as I am at home I was drawn to the farmlands there.  The deep black fields, the orderly lines of crops or vineyards, the homesteads far off the road surrounded by acres of crops or by nothing at all.

Imported Photos 00764 (Small)

I want to go back and concentrate on the places between here and there, the places that aren’t so easy to photograph, the places not so glamorous. Not so obviously beautiful.

Imported Photos 01330 (Small)

I want to think about where our food comes from.  I watched cabbage being picked in a huge field, and though I only saw a moment of the action as our car raced by, I saw cabbage heads furiously being tossed by stooping men crowded close behind a trailer hauled by a tractor.

Imported Photos 01335 (Small)

I want to think about the true cost of our food.  Affordable fresh food comes to us on the backs of people hunched over in a field.  And what do these people get paid?  I don’t know enough.  Just like the fast food workers fighting to earn a living wage, how are these cabbage pickers living?

Imported Photos 01288 (Small)

I want to think about our food supply  I’d like to understand more.  And I’d like to show you how beautiful the places between here and there are, not from a speeding car, but more slowly, more carefully.

More thoughtfully.

Imported Photos 01329

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

7 thoughts on “Between here and there

  1. There is beauty to be found everywhere.

    Recently, it has been hard for me not to think about where my food comes from. So many children are out there working the fields (there are no child labor laws for farming), and getting sick from the pesticide exposure. It is something we should think about more.

    I really want to see this documentary:

    http://theharvestfilm.com/

    Like

  2. I’m all about the Slow Food Movement, making better, conscientious decisions about where our food comes from. Kudos to you for the thoughtful post!

    Like

  3. Love the picture of irrigation — the water looks amazing. And yes, you’re so right — living in the Midwest, we often think of where our food comes from and who has to plant and gather it. I guess it’s in our genes!

    Like

  4. I think you already did a good job of showing us some of what exists between here and there, and you did it in a very thoughtful (and thought-provoking) way. It’s hard to miss where some of the food comes from here on the Eastern Shore. Fields and fields of crops are located beside the roadways, and in between are all the chicken houses. And every now and then, there is a chicken processing plant.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Between here and there | John Goes RVing

  6. Your food ponderings remind me of Barbara Kingsolver’s book, “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.”

    I sure enjoyed taking this trip with you! Thanks!

    Like

  7. As a farm girl, I have a tendency to romanticize all other farms. I think all your shots are lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

