Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

The long goodbye

20 Comments

On the beach

On the beach

We spent the day headed down Highway One saying goodbye to the Pacific yesterday, stopping to play among the waves and sand at several beaches.  The first was early in the morning at the deserted Ocean Beach, just north of the Vanderberg Air Force base. I had my shoes on so didn’t venture into the water.  It looked cold.

Ocean Beach...original name

Ocean Beach…original name

The second, and best, beach we visited was the Jalama Beach, a county park where we had to pay a $10 entrance fee.  Worth every dollar.  There’s a campground there that I’d visit again in a heartbeat, right on the beach.  Being November there were a lot of spots available.  It made me want to fly home and pack up the tent and Katie and head right back out here.  Though I think all the pounding waves, salt water and funky kelp on the beach might not be to the princess’s liking.

Anyway, this beach had a few more people on it, like the surfer…

Surfer dude

Surfer dude

…and the fisherman.

Fisher guy looked warmer than surfer dude.

Fisher guy looked warmer than surfer dude.

I played in the water here and got quite wet.  Turns out the ocean wasn’t as cold today as it was yesterday.  Or maybe I was just getting more acclimated.

Wonderful beach!

Jalama Beach – wonderful!

We stopped somewhere just north of Ventura to watch some people sailboarding.  The wind was strong and they were just flying across the water.

Almost flying

Almost flying

We ended the day watching the sun set at Malibu.  Amazing I know;  sunset on Malibu’s Zumba Beach!

We had no idea the beach is home to about a gazillion trillion seagulls.  Or more.

Some of the many

Some of the many

I found them quite fascinating.    They sat in massive groups…

Waiting for the next flight

Waiting for the next flight

…and then flew as a unit when anyone approached them.

Jogging at sunset

Jogging at sunset

I almost missed the sunset I was so interested in the birds.

Catching the last light

Catching the last light

It was a lovely day that ended in a lovely place with the moon rising over Malibu.

California moon

California moon

I can’t ask for more.  Except maybe more time in California.

20131114_110548 (Small)

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

20 thoughts on “The long goodbye

  1. Ah yes, visiting California is magical. For me, living there not so much.

    >

    Like

  2. What a picture perfect day! Looks very relaxing. Hope the trip helped recharge your batteries.

    Like

  3. Alright Malibu Girl, looks like you’ve settled right in to the California lifestyle!

    Like

  4. we went back a read some of the posts we missed…..looks like you have been having a wonderful time

    Like

  5. These photos make me long for a return visit to the Miss. Gulf Coast, which looks amazingly like the California coast. Without the surfer dude, though! Safe travels home, Dawn, and thanks again for taking us along on your lovely vacation. I know there’s a princess most eager for your return!

    Like

  6. That’s at least a gazillion trillion sea gulls 😉
    You never know – maybe Katie would relax her standards given the beauty of the surroundings. I think a beach vacation together is just the thing!

    Like

  7. Love your pictures, esp. the birds facing into the sun. Long good-bye will be followed by an excited hello, though, when you are reunited with Katie. Always worth going home for, right?

    Like

  8. Wonderful photos! Sunset is gorgeous! All these beaches around the blogosphere today (you, Kathy, Michaela) are making my toes itch to get back in some sand!!!!!!

    Like

  9. Wow, those beaches looked gorgeous! Dawn, I’m so glad you got amazing wearer and had a great time!
    Pippa 🙂
    P.S. Thanks for letting me know about Bree, you’re so thoughtful, that was very helpful!

    Like

  10. We had perfect weather Pippa! Now we’re home and there’s a big thunder storm coming. Glad we’re home and not trying to fly in today.

    Like

  11. Hi Dawn and Bruce, I didn’t know you were going to California. What a great time and a great trip. Hope you are back in time for the A2SO symphony concert on Saturday, November 23. I take off the next day for Texas and family. They’re still working on my kitchen.
    Love, Aunt Becky

    Like

  12. We both had wonderful times on the beach, didn’t we? Loved looking at your pictures. The cliffs along California beaches make them look very different from Florida beaches. Happy about the synchronicity of our sand dollars.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

