Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Remembering Reagan

5 Comments

Saturday we visited the Reagan Library in Simi Valley.  It sits high on a ridge overlooking mountains and valleys.  What a beautiful location.  We sat for quite awhile on the terrace just enjoying the view. (Click on photos to see more detail.)

Peaceful

Peaceful

Whether or not you liked Reagan you come out of his library thinking that he had some pretty rational ideas.  One in particular feels like it’s still appropriate today:

Can we learn from history?

Can we learn from history?

The economy, when he began his first term, sounds a lot like the way things are now.  Unemployment, uncertainty, people unhappy with the way government was working.  I remember those days like they were yesterday.  In some ways I guess they were yesterday.  It felt a bit uncomfortable looking at history that I’ve actually lived and it made me feel old to watch parents explaining to their children the importance of Reagan’s agreement with Russia.

"Tear down that wall!"

“Tear down that wall!”

We walked through the oval office replica, and through Air Force One which was smaller than I thought it would be, yet huge inside it’s very own glass hanger.

Forever flying.

Forever flying.

We paid our respects at Reagan’s final resting place too.  Once again I felt old as a young girl stopped, read the marker and exclaimed “He was born in 1911??” then twirled away down the sidewalk as another little girl said “I was just a baby when he died.”

Truth

Truth

Can you see what it says?  Let me read it for you:  “I know in my heart that man is good, that what is right will always eventually triumph and there is purpose and worth to each and every life.”

True Mr. President.  True.

Photo of mural at library.

Mural at library.

We left Simi Valley and headed north, the late afternoon sun making the hillsides glow.  Another perfect day

Stunning.

Stunning.

I don’t know where we’re going tomorrow — that’s the best part about this vacation.  No deadlines, no commitments, we just look at the map every evening and head out when the sun comes up.

Perfect.

Oval Office history

Oval Office history

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

5 thoughts on “Remembering Reagan

  1. Thanks for enlightening me, I pictured presidential libraries to be dull. An Air Force One under glass, that is cool! I agree with you. No matter what side of the political spectrum you’re on, you have to respect those who gave their lives to trying to make this a better country to live in.

    Like

  2. Oh, I would have loved to see Air Force one. I find it fascinating.

    Sounds like a nice way to spend the day.

    Like

  3. “They don’t demand miracles. They do expect us to act. Let us act together.”

    Would he be weeping today? It would be a miracle if they acted together today.

    >

    Like

  4. I LOVE that I’m getting to tag along on your vacation, Dawn — I’ve never been to Reagan’s library, and I know I would have found it as fascinating as you did. And you’re right — he was the right man for the job at that time in history, and we’d do well if we had another one of his character right now!

    Like

  5. You’ve shared some terrific Reagan quotes!
    And hooray for you on your as-it-comes vacation 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

