Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Novice Obedience – Katie earns her title

11 Comments

These are mine!

These are mine!

With high hopes we went to Katie’s third leg for Obedience Novice today.  I even figured out pretty close to perfectly our timing so we didn’t have to sit around all day.  Katie was engaged as we waited, but anxious to get going. So was I.

Is it our turn yet?

Is it our turn yet?

There were six teams in our class; we were #4.  Just as the Team #1 started I realized Katie hadn’t gone to potty in awhile…so we went out in the rain and walked around. She wet but I had hoped for more.  Ah well.  (Truly, this matters, later in the story.)

Then it was our turn.  Katie heeled fine into the ring and set up fine.  But she lagged behind me on the heel on leash and wouldn’t sit at the final halt which was right in front of the gate.  She was more interested in everyone sitting out there than me.  I don’t think she even realized I had stopped.

Her figure 8 was OK,  though she lagged a bit on the outside curve, she at least sat when we halted.  Her stand for exam was perfect; she had no problem letting the strange lady touch her.  I was so proud of her!

Then we were back to do more heeling this time without a leash.  If I could get the video to play in this blog you’d see that she was on a different planet than I was.  And as we headed back toward the crowd she whipped around and tugged at her tail.  This is her sign she has to GO!  😦  She didn’t sit on the last halt on this heeling pattern either.  Just stood there and looked at me looking at her.  SIGH.

On a brighter note her recall was pretty cool.  She was almost straight when she ran up and sat in front of me.  That’s been an ongoing problem for quite awhile…she’ll run to me and then sit crooked, all the while grinning.  Silly girl.  Today she sat pretty straight, and finished by circling around me when I signaled and sat pretty.  WHEW! (Those of you on facebook can see the video there.  I can’t remember how to upload to youtube, and so it isn’t going into this blog.)

I thought we had it in the bag then, she has had no trouble at all on her long sits (1 minute) and downs (3 minutes).  But surprise surprise, she didn’t want to sit, though she did after one additional command….and she REALLY didn’t want to down.  I had to physically fight with her, which cost me big points.  I know that she had to GO Mama!  And I was holding my breath the whole 3 minutes thinking she was going to just get up and head for the door.  She did shift from one hip to another and I thought she was going to move, but she stayed where she was.  Have I mentioned that she’s a good girl?

All lined up.

All lined up.

So in the end Katie got her Novice Obedience title.  We scored 178.5 out of 200 possible points.  We even got third place!

Did I do good Mama?

Did I do good Mama?

While we were waiting for awards the dog next to me leaned in for a head rub.  I couldn’t stop, each time I tried she leaned in further.  What a sweetie!

New best friend.

New best friend.

Best of all for Katie is that she got a ton of ribbons and a new toy!  She won a pink whale.  She’s already been playing with it.

Me and my whale.

Me and my whale.

She’s napping now.  I need a nap too.  She did things today she’s never done before, but most of the errors were mine.  Which is why I didn’t get a pink whale I suppose.

Good girl sweetie.  Mama loves you.

Don't touch my whale!

Don’t touch my whale!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “Novice Obedience – Katie earns her title

  1. I saw her grab her tail…I thought maybe there was a bug or something….now I know the real story.

    The fact that Katie does all that without a reward amazes me! Chewy refused to sit in agility class today, unless he got a treat right away. There’s no way he’d spend all that time in a ring without FOOD!

    Katie is such a good girl, and even though she lagged a little, she still kept looking up at her mama. Hard to do with so many distractions.

    Good job you two!

    Like

  2. You know, when a girl’s gotta go, a girl’s gotta go! It’s really hard to sit when nature calls!

    >

    Like

  3. GOOD JOB! Proud of you both! Your a novice, your suppose to make a few novice mistakes. Now, rest on your laurels, play with the pink whale and then get busy training for your CDX!

    Like

  4. Way to go!! Sometimes things aren’t perfect but that’s ok.

    Like

  5. I thought you two looked great. I didn’t detect she needed to go potty. Good girl Katie!

    Like

  6. What a good girl. She must have been so proud of sitting straight on that recall 😉 Love the photo of you with dignified Katie and shameless affection-gathering pup 🙂

    Like

  7. Katie, you must be so pleased with all your prizes especially the pink whale! You’re such a cute smiley girl!

    It’s such a shame you just needed to GO! I guess you couldn’t help it, but I think you did so well anyway – I wouldn’t have sat still with all those dogs around me!

    Have a super week,
    Pippa 🙂

    Like

  8. Congrats, Dawn and Katie! Good for you both. Katie, Dallas says you’re much better behaved than he is because when he wants to GO, he wants to go! He says he likes your pink whale, though.

    Like

  9. Awww. I love the photo of you and Katie with your new best friend. 🙂

    Like

  10. Love the pink whale. And loved how the big dog next to you wanted a head rub. So cute.

    Like

  11. Third place is pawsome. Keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

