Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Yes I’m a pretty girl. I know.

17 Comments

New smells!

New smells!

Katie here!  Haven’t you missed reading about my adventures?  Me too, cause I haven’t had any!  I’ve been bugging and bugging my Mama but she says she’s working too hard to go adventuring with me.  Huh.  Seems an easy fix; just stop working Mama and hang out with me all the time!  Problem solved!

So anyway, I’ve been working on her to take me to the park and she finally said yes, she could take me in between all her other commitments, if I was sure I wanted to go.  Sure I wanted to go?  Is she crazy?  I’m always sure I want to go.  Go ahead.  Test me, say “Hey Katie, want to GO?” and see what happens.

I'm ready Mama!

I’m ready Mama!

Yep I’m always up for a jaunt in the park.  This time we went to a park a little farther away with fresh smells.  We went way in the back of the park where no one was and she let me run around off leash!  That is so much fun!  I always stay very close to her but it’s nice to be able to stop and sniff whenever I want.

Then suddenly she was clipping on my leash real fast and telling me to hurry up!  And you know what came chugging across the field?  THIS:

What the heck is that?

What the heck is that?

It was a tractor pulling kids on a hayride all around the park.  I thought it was very interesting, but I don’t think I would have run after it.  Well.  Pretty sure.

After that we went to investigate the kids playground.  Mama kept asking me to sit on these silly big dots of color.  I told her I didn’t like the way it felt on my feet, and besides, I pointed out the sign said ‘NO PETS’ but apparently Mama can’t read.  She did leave her glasses in the car, so maybe that was the problem.

I found a dot that matches me Mama!

I found a dot that matches me Mama!

At one of the dot places there was a drain and it had funny sounds coming out of it.  I didn’t like it.  Not one bit.

Scary!  Can we go now Mama?

Scary! Can we go now Mama?

After that we walked past the climbing wall.  I was pretty bored.  Doesn’t Mama know that dogs don’t climb walls?  What does she think I am, a cat??

Stupid climbing wall.  Wonder what's over THERE?

Stupid climbing wall. Wonder what’s over THERE?

Mama kept asking me to pose in front of pretty trees and stuff.

Another red tree.  Boring.

Another red tree.  Sigh.

That was boring too.  I wanted to walk some more and  we did end up walking a long way…but not 8 miles.  She’ll tell you we did, but honestly?  We didn’t.

Look!  I went a long way! (kidding!)

Look! I went a long way! (kidding!)

We did some heeling practice too cause I have a trial coming up next weekend.  Mama said looking down at me and my shadow it almost felt like she had two dogs.

Me and my shadow...

Me and my shadow…

Daddy says I have enough personality for two dogs.  And that’s why he won’t let Mama get me a brother or sister.  He says I am enough.  I don’t know.  I might like a brother or a sister.  But on the other hand I sort of like all the attention myself too.

It got kind of windy before we left.  I like how the wind blows my fur around.  Makes me very glamorous don’t you think?

Yes I know I'm beautiful.

Yes I know I’m beautiful.

My mama and I had a great time.  I don’t know why I have to bug her so much to get her to take me to the park.  She has just as much fun as I do.  Maybe even more considering she’s always taking pictures.  In fact the header up above, the one of the two leaves?  She took that while we were at the kids playground.  I pointed it out to her.   My Mama.  Always stopping and taking pictures.

Next weekend we have an Obedience Trial.  I can tell she’s sort of nervous.  She’s always spontaneously asking me to heel.  Geeze.  I get it Mama!  Give me a break!  I’ll be fine next weekend.

Will you be fine Mama?

Smiling at my Mama.

Smiling at my Mama.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

17 thoughts on “Yes I’m a pretty girl. I know.

  1. Katie, You are a hoot. Yes, you do look very glamorous in the wind. Sounds like it was a fun trip to the park, even if you did spend half the time modeling.

    Your daddy is right-you have one big personality! That’s why I love you ( plus your super cute).

    Like

  2. Katie, I just love how your furs blow on a windy day — Dallas’s do that, too. And both of us love Shadow-Dog. Dallas is plenty dog for me right now, so I understand what your dad meant about you having personality for two dogs. Sometimes a doggin is so “high maintenance” that he (or she) has to be an only. But hey, you got a great adventure and something challenging to look forward to next weekend. Good luck, by the way!

    Like

  3. I think mama sometimes need to be pushed to relax and enjoy. If something doesn’t get done, remind her it will wait, Katie. And I think the wind makes you look very Marilyn Monroe-ish. What? Ask mama, she’ll explain who that is.

    >

    Like

  4. You ARE a pretty girl! Katie, come to Farmington Hills, I want to go on an adventure with you cause my Mom never takes me either! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    Like

  5. You will both be fine and both beautiful, too! In addition, you are both great story-tellers!

    Like

  6. Your mama just wants to be able to show you how beautiful you are in your youth. You’ll appreciate all those photos when you’re older 😉 But hey! A beautiful day at the park. Good job getting your mama outta the house!

    Like

  7. Hiya Katie!
    What a super duper jaunt to the park that was, it was well worth you persisting with her!
    I agree, stopping to take pictures all the time can be boring, and sometimes I just want to play, but all of your pictures are just lovely! You are a gorgeous girly!
    Pippa 🙂

    Like

  8. A drain with funny noises? I don’t think I’d like it either Katie. Mind you, I don’t like a lot of things. You know what, your fur looks *much* prettier than mine with the wind in it. Even Mum says so. Happy woofs, Faith.

    Like

  9. Good job taking your Mama on an adventure. We need to keep them busy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

