Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Scary concert

16 Comments

Practice practice practice!

Practice practice practice!

Tuesday night was the last rehearsal before our Halloween concert.  I need to practice every night.  Every. Night.  Last night I spent 30 minutes on a few measures of Damnation of Faust by Hector Berlioz.  It’s all pretty good except for some transition triplets that, counting in two, I can’t seem to get.  And it’s pretty much just us clarinets doing it…so at rehearsal it was mush.  Really bad mush.  I’ve written in the beats of each measure.  I’ve slowed it down.  I’ve counted it in four.  I’ve tongued the triplets to keep track even though it’s not written that way.  Sigh.  I need to figure this out.

We’re also playing Vesuvius by Frank Ticheli.  It’s supposed to represent a volcano.  We aren’t quite there.  I’ve been playing along with a recording of it for a few weeks.  That helps a lot, but still this is one you have to keep counting and not get caught up in listening to anyone else.  Take a moment and listen to it.  It’s a pretty cool piece.  If we had about 3 more weeks of practice it would work out.  But the concert is next Tuesday.

And yes we’re playing some other music that we can get through with less angst.  But I have to say, our concert’s title is apt.  “Things that scare us.”

Cause I’m feeling plenty scared.

Fractured

Fractured

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “Scary concert

  1. Sounds like you are playing some really hard music. Sounds scary just reading your post about it! Hopefully the trombones have measures of rest during the hard triplet parts. Us “bone-heads” (that’s what Mommy’s trombone section used to refer themselves as in school when they held the bell of the trombone on their head like a hat) probably wouldn’t be able get the hang of that hard music.

    Like

  2. Three against two or three against four is very tricky, but the effect is worth the trouble. The song “America” from “West Side Story” would hardly be the same without that difficult timing. You will do great!

    Like

  3. Well, I’m not a musician in any sense of the word, but your concert sounds tough! You’ll get it though, you always do.

    Like

    • I know. But I don’t remember feeling this bad about the music for a couple of years. I hope everyone else is practicing too!! And that she doesn’t go hog wild on the tempos.

      Like

  4. But it always works out in the end, doesn’t it? You’ll be great, because you have the desire.

    >

    Like

    • It seems to always work out…sometimes pretty well, sometimes it just ends. Either way if I can get past next Tuesday I won’t have to stress for a while…until the Christmas concert and how bad can THAT be? LOL.

      Like

  5. Well you picked the right time of year to be scared!

    I bet it’s going to sound amazing next week! And it will feel so good.

    Like

  6. I think this must be how you get ready for concert! Because before each one you are scared, sure the sounds won’t be good enough and then the big night comes and you are fabulous And You’ll be fabulous again but go ahead and fret because it seems to really work well for you! 😀

    Like

  7. Somehow, it seems that the worse the practices go, the better the concert. I don’t know why it generally works out that way — perhaps because everyone, dressed up and actually performing, really gives it their ALL when it counts. Best of luck — you’ll nail it, Dawn, my money’s on you!

    Like

  8. You will be fine and the concert will be a huge success! Just have fun. That’s what it is all about!

    Like

  9. Hope the concert goes well! I’d be scared to death. I suspect you have enough experience that you’ll do fine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

