Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

“Walktober”

18 Comments

Walking along a country road.

Walking along a country road.

Robin on her blog Breezes at Dawn proposed a virtual group walk a few weeks ago.  We’re all going out for a walk sometime this week and then posting about what we found.  I am always looking for an excuse to go for a walk, and we’ve had such beautiful weather this fall it’s hard to be inside.  I chose this past Friday for my Walktober because I had the day off and because it might be the last pretty day for a long time.  Rain is forecast along with colder weather.  Besides…this challenge is due by Sunday!

Golden afternoon.

Golden afternoon.

I thought I’d go on my favorite four mile running route.  I thought I’d find one photo per mile to share with all of you.  I was wrong.  Even during the first 1/2 mile I  found many beautiful things to show you.

Cottonwood and Oak.

Cottonwood and Oak.

How could I choose just one?

Swamp holly and maples

Swamp holly and maples

At the end of my road I remembered a small windmill that I see every morning when I commute to work.  Early mornings when the air is cool and the water still warm a gentle mist floats up from the pond.  It’s beautiful.   I’ve always wanted to photograph it.   I knew it was somewhere between where I stood and the next road north…approximately a mile of woods and fields away.  I also knew there was no mist that afternoon.  But still, I wanted to see if I could find it.

So the planned four mile walk along country roads was exchanged for a hike across country.

Old pasture.

Old pasture.

Back behind the trees I found the old rock field fence that lined what used to be a road.

Yesterday's fence.

Yesterday’s fence.

I came across this little guy.  I can’t remember if this means a long or a short winter.  Do you?

Heading toward winter.

Heading toward winter.

Eventually I moved out of the woods and found a mowed path that wound through a field and down to the pond.  Such a pretty place, you’d think it would be tranquil.  But the freeway was right there with it’s constant roar.  The windmill was cute though!

Pretty little spot.

Pretty little spot.

On my way back to the road I noted this bird condo.  I wondered who has lived there and whether anyone lives there now.

Bird houses.

Bird houses.

Then I was back on the road and walking past a little lake — enjoying the colors across the way.  The pontoon boat seemed to be enjoying the pretty afternoon too as it waited for one last voyage before winter closes in.

Summer meets fall.

Summer meets fall.

So I never made it around my 4 mile route.  There would have been pretty things to show you if I had gone that way too.  Horses, barns, sun, shadows, colored trees, woodlands.  But I went the way less traveled and found new treasures.

Thanks Robin, for encouraging us to get out and see our worlds.  It was fun.  Hopefully we’ll do a “Walknover!”

Stepping out.

Stepping out.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

18 thoughts on ““Walktober”

  1. Amazing finds!

    I love the old stone wall. We have one that lines our property in spots, but it is mostly collapsed. Jeff and I toy with the idea of building it back up (or hiring an 18 year old to stack them up).

    Fall is so beautiful, glad you got out to enjoy it!

    Like

  2. Thanks for taking us with you – you did find lots of good stuff! Plus, now you’ll “need” to go back out (if it’s not a rainy mess down there like it is here).

    Like

  3. Thanks for letting me tag along on your hike! I enjoyed your scenery, especially the windmill and the lake. I guess four miles is too much for The Princess, huh?!

    Like

  4. Oh the walktober! I completely forgot about Robin’s challenge. How long do we have to do it? We’re going on a *short* walk up Mount Arvon today. Well, if I don’t get to join in on-line, at least it’s fun to read about the walks other people posted. Thank you, Dawn.

    Like

  5. We think that strange looking critter is going to the “ugly bug ball.”

    Old song – found the song on U-Tube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=utWrIWq2_tk

    Essex & Sherman

    Like

  6. A lovely walk. I am so wanting to head out for a walk in the fall air, but I hate to ask people to stay with husband too often, so thank you for letting me tag along.

    >

    Like

  7. Wish I could walk w/ you!!! Looks stunning and colorful 🙂 Xx

    Like

  8. What a lovely walk! The weather has been wonderful and I still somehow haven’t gotten out for a walk. I was just full of good intentions and the weekend got away from me. Very nicely done!

    Like

  9. Gorgeous photos and a perfect walking day!

    Like

  10. I love this post, Dawn! Such a beautiful walk. And look at all the lovely colors you found! Your wooly bear is predicting a mild winter, but I’ve found wooly bears to be right about 50% of the time during the years I tested them. Thank you so much for participating. It was a treat to be able to take a walk with you. 🙂

    Like

  11. Pingback: Walktober | breezes at dawn

  12. I’m over from Robin’s … Thanks for the lovely walk. Somewhere east of the Mississippi? Yesterday’s fence is my favorite.

    Like

    • Yes, I’m in Michigan. The fence was a complete surprise, had no idea that road was back there. I’ll go visit your blog next! Thanks for stopping by! Doesn’t Robin do wonderful photography! I love her stuff!

      Like

  13. I’ve dropped over from Robin’s, s little late as life has been a bit hectic but better late than never. 🙂
    It looks like you enjoyed a beautiful walk, catching some lovely autumn colours. I can’t hear the freeway from here so I really enjoyed stopping at the windmill too. 😀
    Maybe we can do another walk in the spring?

    Like

Leave a Reply

