Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Night music

14 Comments

Ceiling

Ceiling

I was lucky this weekend.  I got to attend a Columbus Symphony concert on Saturday night.  You know how much I love to listen to live symphony music, so it was a treat to visit Columbus, sit in a beautiful venue, and listen to such lovely music.

The program contained three pieces.  The first, Brio:  Toccata and Fantasy for Orchestra, was written by a relatively young composer, John Estacio, born in 1966.   It felt like a lush movie background, perhaps the sound you hear behind one of those motion films seen on giant screens, where you’re in an airplane flying low across the country.  At the beginning I could see herds of horses racing across the prairie, the majestic Rocky Mountains touched with snow.  I felt the  plane dip low into the Grand Canyon, then glide gently across farmland, barns glowing in the sun. Soon I was on the East Coast, swinging through New York’s Central Park, where the frenetic sounds of millions of commuters began to infringe on the calm.  The piece ended, for me, in the streets of that city with people and taxis moving together in the crazy race of city life.  I know these images are likely not the inspiration the composer used when he wrote this piece, but I thoroughly enjoyed imaging it my way.

Second on the program was Rachaninoff’s Concerto No. 2 in C Minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op.18.  It starts melancholy, contemplative, but my favorite part was the second movement, so sweetly gentle, such a familiar melody.  You’d recognize it if you heard, (I linked so you CAN hear) and you’d smile.  I smiled.

Ornate

Ornate

The last piece of the night was also familiar; Brahm’s Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98.  I thought my favorite movement of the four was the first.  It’s so lush, so full, so familiar.  But it turns out my favorite was the third movement with it’s grand entrance, jubilant and exultant moving into a playful dance.

Warming up

Warming up

I was thinking, on the walk back out to the car, that if everyone could experience an evening like this just once in awhile the world would be a better place.  There are so many bad things going on both here at home and across the world.  Music like this is like comfort food.  In fact I’ll risk calling it comfort music.  I could feel the stress flowing out of my neck and shoulders as I sat and absorbed the music into my soul Saturday night.

I wish, truly wish, everyone could experience music live.  If you ever get the opportunity attend a symphony concert one evening, even if you don’t think you like this kind of music.  Just go.  Close your eyes and let your mind float free.  See how you feel.  See what you imagine.  It will expand your mind.  It will let you breath.

Comfort music.  We could all use a little more of it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “Night music

  1. I feel as though “imagine” is something our young population doesn’t get to experience very often. With all the screens available to them, they never truly get to unplug and let their minds wander. It doesn’t help that so many music programs are being cut in schools, because they aren’t deemed mandatory. The one music class we offer is done in the computer lab, where kids “make music” on the computer.

    Sad.

    I think that unlpugging and logging off is really the only way to release stress leave our bodies. Live music is a great way to do that!

    Like

  2. Your post brought back very old memories of when I was in my high school orchestra. Once a year we would all go downtown to Orchestra Hall and listen to the Chicago Symphony. We were in the nose bleed seats, but what wonderful times those were.

    Like

  3. Sit back, close your eyes and absorb with all your senses. Sounds like heaven.

    >

    Like

  4. I agree 100%, Dawn — listening to live classical music is energizing and relaxing at the same time! Of the pieces you’ve listed, I think the Brahms might be my favorite. The Rachmaninov made me question whether, if given the chance today, I’d have chosen the flute over the clarinet, ha!

    Like

  5. My favorite blogs of yours are when you’re writing about music. You are just so passionate about it that I get absorbed, too. I don’t get to hear symphony often (ever?), but my husband plays guitar, so I get to sit with that pretty often. And he’s a bit of an audiophile, so we listen to music throughout the day. I cannot imagine life without music.
    Did you see on Carol’s blog that you and I chose the same instrument to “learn?” Turns out I’m a cello-loving girl, too 🙂

    Like

  6. Sounds just wonderful!!! So glad you got to go.

    Like

  7. Sadly imagination seems to be something so many no longer want to use – it isn’t that they haven’t got it any more…they just don’t want to spend a few moments thinking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

