Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Adventuring we go

14 Comments

Pretty picnic area

Pretty picnic area

Katie made me feel guilty enough to make sure she got to go on an adventure this weekend.  Knowing that it was going to rain most of Sunday Katie and I headed over to a park late Saturday.  We were introduced to this park by Katie’s doggie friend Peep last spring and it’s taken us all this time to visit it again.  Because we went on the spur of the moment we couldn’t coordinate with Peep this time but we’re pretty sure we’ll be able to get together again this fall.

Katie and Peep

Katie and Peep

This park has a lot of trails through the woods and I figured I’d find a trail head and we’d just walk for a bit.  The first place I parked turned out to be the parking lot for disc golf so it was a bit too busy for us, but the picnic area was pretty.  The second place we stopped was also a picnic area, but it was empty and had a trail leading back into the woods.  So we were off!

Exploring

Exploring

It was a lovely afternoon; no bugs and lots of sunshine.

A walk in the woods

A walk in the woods

There are a couple lakes at the park too, and we walked down through a boat launch to explore a fishing dock.  It moved and squeaked a bit as we walked on it making Katie jump at first.  But after she figured out there wasn’t anything scary there she was happy enough to be near the water.

Fishing dock

Fishing dock

Mostly though we walked on the paths through the woods and enjoyed being out in nature.  Lots of squirrels chattering and chipmunks squeaking, but Katie was very good when we did a little recall.

Recall!

Recall!

She loves doing recall when we’re at a park.  But I only do it once, and only if she is focused on me.  She didn’t let a little chipmunk distract her.  She’s a very good girl.

And she wants to know what we’re doing next weekend.  I don’t know little one…but I’m sure it will be fun!

Riding home

Riding home

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “Adventuring we go

  1. Peep–what a cool name!
    I love Katie’s hair, by the way. I wish I could look half as well coiffed.

    Like

  2. See, Katie, I told you mom would make sure you got an adventure!

    >

    Like

  3. That looks like a pawsome place for an adventure.

    Like

  4. This is the perfect time of year for outdoor sheltie adventures. NOt too hot, not too cold, and lots of cool things to see. The park looks so pretty! Nothing better than a path thru tall trees.

    Glad you two got to spend some time together.

    Like

  5. YAY Katie! You got your adventure and that park looks like it was the perfect place to have it! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    Like

  6. A perfect day of adventuring. I love this time of year when the days are still warm, but the mosquitoes are slumbering. Fall looks like it’s waiting for you guys downstate to be ready 😉

    Like

  7. WooHoo, guilt tripping does work Katie!! 😉 That looked like a pawesome adventure!! Woods, trails, lakes, and sunshine?! Wow!!

    Like

  8. WOOF)))
    Love Katie! Love her adventures. You Are A good Mama. Xx

    Like

  9. Woo-Hoo, Katie got to go on an adventure! Looks like a beautiful day, and I know it was good for both of you, being outside in Nature.

    Like

  10. he looks like one happy girl for sure….nothing better then going to the park

    Like

  11. Another wonderful adventure. Looks like you and Katie had a great time. Adventure certainly seems to be lacking around here! Leaves are changing like crazy – I really need to get out there and have one myself.

    Like

  12. Once again, you’ve taken us on a lovely, peaceful walk. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

