Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Small town

17 Comments

Before this week gets away from me I wanted to share a few more photos from my adventure last Sunday.  Photos that are not barns.  Because  really there is more to life in rural Michigan.

I stopped in the small farming community of Coleman.  I think it’s a farming community because right in the center of town is a grain elevator.

The working parts

The working parts

I thought the whole thing was picturesque.  I suppose if you’re a farmer it’s just equipment.

Buy your feed here

Buy your feed here

But to an outsider it’s all color and angles.

Years of feed sold here

Years of feed sold here

Interesting.  In a dusty sort of way.

At least the driver can see

At least the driver can see

I parked near a store.  Can you guess what they sell?

You guessed it!

You guessed it!

They sell auto and bicycle parts!  Cool combination.

Along the way I also passed this garden.  I actually turned around and went back for these photos.

So pretty

So pretty

They even had a cow.

Moo!

Moo!

It was a fun adventure.  I’m glad I went.  Hopefully I can get back on the road sometime soon!

Glory

Glory

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

17 thoughts on “Small town

  1. Interesting photogenic angles. The truck windshield is a great example of practicality and no wasted energy, and the sunflowers and morning glory are beautiful bright spots. I enjoyed your adventure.

    >

    Like

  2. My favorite is of the blue/red truck with the green background –all colors are balanced. Cool.

    Like

  3. Bahaha, I love that cow!! Of course, I would have barked my head off at it…but I still like it! 😉 Wow, looks like you live in a very cool place with lots of pretty nature and niffty buildings! How’s Miss Katie doing?

    Like

  4. Great adventure! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. The cow made out of an oil tank is brilliant! WHat a great way to recycle something that is usually deemed as “hazardous waste”.

    Love the bicycle hanging too. People are so clever.

    Small towns are the best. I drive by a farm on my way to work, and I keep meaning to stop and take a photo of one of their signs which reads, “Punkins for sale”. It cracks me up every time I see it.

    Like

  6. We so want that cow for out yard…we saw one recently only smaller that was a mail box!!!!!

    Like

  7. Guess the cow was a big hit! I love it too. Love how it was made, very clever. The flowers were really pretty too! Sounds like a FUN adventure.

    Like

  8. Love the morning glory and the sunflowers — a walk is always a success when you find such beauty!

    Like

  9. Oh what lovely and fun and interesting photos you posted here. There are really a lot of cool things found in small towns. Hope you are enjoying your weekend.

    Like

  10. Except for the color, that truck could be parked on my dad’s farm! Can’t decide which I like more: the cow or the flowers. That specific color of blue is right at the top of my list of favorites…

    Like

  11. There are so many wonderful photo ops in just about every neighborhood one goes! Nice selection.

    Like

Leave a Reply

