Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Sunday adventure. No dog involved.

13 Comments

Sunday my rambling genes took over and I left the house in early morning.   I took the camera,  not knowing where I was going or what I was looking for.  It wasn’t a pretty day; the skies were grey with low hanging clouds.  Not even interesting low hanging clouds.  Rain threatened.

As usual when my heart is tugging me toward the road I headed north for awhile.  After an hour or so I knew I was in farm country and headed west on a smaller highway.  I saw the soybean fields were turning yellow and then I knew what I’d be looking for.

You guessed it.

Red barn, green roof, yellow field.

Red barn, green roof, yellow field.

Barns in fields of yellow soybeans. (Make sure you click on the photos to get all the detail.)

Along the way I also saw other stuff, some of which I even stopped to photograph.  Those will have to be displayed in future blogs.  Because this one is about barns and yellow soybean fields.

Red barn...yellow field.

Red barn…yellow field.

Of course some of the best photos I have only in my mind as there was nowhere to stop.  I was usually out on a freeway thinking “DARN!  There’s another great shot!”  But when I got off the freeway and meandered down dirt roads I found plenty of picturesque stuff.

Yep.  It’s another barn in a soybean field.  Pretty, isn’t it!

Ummm...red barn...you got the rest...

Ummm…red barn…you’ve got the rest…

Obviously I thought so.

Not red barn, but yellow field.

Not a red barn, but still pretty.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “Sunday adventure. No dog involved.

  1. Beautiful! These photos make me want to drive to Vermont! But, the leaves are about to change, and then the roads get clogged with city leaf peepers. Maybe if I get up extra early……

    Like

  2. Great Pictures!

    Like

  3. Hey, you’re a really good photographer…making me homesick for the North!

    Like

  4. I’m a farm girl, too, and my dad farms soy beans. These pictures speak to my soul 🙂

    Like

  5. Can’t say I have seen any red bards around here – lots of grey ones and most are falling down and overgrown – which actually is pretty cool. Can’t believe you didn’t take the Katie – I bet she wasn’t happy

    Like

  6. Wow, I can’t believe how much farther along your soybeans are than ours! Here, our farmers got a late start, so our soybeans are still quite green. Your red barns look so striking against the yellow fields!

    Like

  7. It’s days like this that are the reward for those “other” days.

    Like

  8. Oh, Dawn, I LOVE those soybean fields in September! Heaps of treasure, they look to my eye. Thank you for sharing them.

    Like

  9. You didn’t go up in the Thumb, did you, Dawn? I’m not sure how many soybean fields there are in the Thumb. A lot of other kinds of beans and corn and sugar beets. I was in love with the height of the corn during my downstate visit. It looked like Jack ‘n the Beanstalk corn. Almost up to the clouds. I mentioned it 16 times. Lovely yellow pictures.

    Like

    • I was around Midland and Claire. I’m sure the thumb has lots of soybeans too! 🙂 Weren’t they pretty! Corn crop looked really good this year too…we got rain for a change!

      Like

  10. An adventure without Katie. Say it isn’t so…..

    Essex & Sherman

    Like

  11. A solo adventure. I need one of those. Good for you for just jumping in the car and doing it.

    Like

  12. Pingback: Cloud chaser | Change Is Hard

Leave a Reply

