Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Mama says

17 Comments

Katie and I went camping last night.  In the yard, back behind the big blue spruce.  Just about where the tent is pitched in the header of this blog.  Yep.  A nice spot.

IMG_5589

She did good, climbed right on top of her big pillow and went to sleep at 11 when we ventured out.  I slept good too.  Until 3:22 when Katie barked once.  And then stood on me to look out the window and slowly watched something move from right to left while growling under her breath.

I convinced her it was all right and eventually she gave up guard duty.  But then she was up!  And she wanted nothing to do with hanging out in the tent and going back to sleep.  I gave up asking her to go lie down at 4:15 and we wearily (well I was weary, she was prancing) walked across the yard to the house.

Her Dad took her out the front door to do her business in case that was the problem, though why she couldn’t do that on the walk to the house is beyond me.  Apparently you can only do your business if you go out the front door.

Then we went back to bed.  But she wasn’t having any of that either.   After a bit of jumping on and off the bed and barking to be let out of the bedroom I used my school voice and told her to LIE DOWN!  She did and we all fell asleep.

Until 6.  Because, don’t you know, 6 is when we get up….right Mama!?  So I took her out again and as we wandered the front yard she starts staring out into the shadows and growling, then lunging at our shadows.  And doing some spins.  We went inside.

Now we’re both up.

But I’m going back to bed.  And I’m not promising that I’ll be awake in time for doggy school.  I’m not setting an alarm either.  She has lost all brownie points and any possibility of an adventure this weekend.

Oh look.  Now she’s asleep on the sofa.  Looks cute doesn’t she.

Uh huh.

IMG_5577 (Small)

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

17 thoughts on “Mama says

  1. It is called pay back for not going on an adventure last weekend 🙂

    Like

  2. Ohhhh you sooooooooooooooooo made me laugh!!! LIFE WITH A SHELTIE!!! They all share so many of the same behaviors, love that she can only poop if she goes out the front door. This was great!

    Like

  3. Oh geez, Katie~girl! Your mama needs to get some sleep! But, you are a very good watchdog.

    Better turn on the charm when your mama wakes up. You know how to get on her good side. Look extra cute.

    Like

  4. You probably had a 60 lb rabid raccoon crossing your yard and she was only trying to warn you. Or…it was the neighbor’s cat.

    Like

  5. Oh yeah – they’re so cute after they have us wide awake in the far-too-early hours and they go back to sleep. I do think I see little horns on those heads at those times.

    Like

  6. They can be little imps, can’t they? Wonder what she spied that woke her up so completely??

    Like

  7. That’s great!! I laughed my head off at several things in here, but the ”she stood on me” bit is so familiar!! Why do they feel like they have to patrol ON you? I just had two 80 lb plus doggies do that to me yesterday!! And the ”doing her business only out the front door…” boy, and that truth! The production I go through trying to get my new one, Acacia, to actually settle down and GO!! Then I bring Sundew out and she has to go the exact path Acacia just took, sniff his stuff and only then does she finally get the urge…I hear ya on the ”losing brownie points,” too. The other day I did exactly the same thing when they drove me nuts on a leash walk. I told them that I was going to take them to the swamp, but that I changed my mind because ”you two are a couple of jerks!” And I meant it too…We got in the house and don’t you know the two of them tripped over each other to make up…

    Like

  8. When you gotta bark you gotta bark.
    Strangely, Mum had a similar night. TND has vanished and left me all alone (Mum says he at a thing called a stag party weekend) so I of course had to guard Mum by barking regularly and sleeping on TND’s pillow, in between barking and waking Arran up.
    ~Lickies, Ludo

    Like

  9. Hope Katie didnt see that wolf u heard crying the other day.

    Like

  10. 😀 Muahaha, well at least you had an enjoyable camping experience until 3:30! 😉 We’re camping in the backyard tonight too, since it’s soooooo hot! Domeek says that she’s sure there will be stories to tell! The tent is up, the sleeping bag is in, now all I want is carob s’mores! 😉

    Like

  11. Arrrooo Katie. Zzzzzzz. We think they be asleep.

    Like

  12. Nothing like no sleep to make us grumpy. Lol.

    Like

  13. Oh boy can I relate to a sleepless night care of a fuzzy friend. We finally figured out how to get the cats to let us sleep through the night, but they are not helpful if you ever need a nap. Walk all over you, snuggle in a thousand different places so that you can never settle.
    I sure hope you get a good nap today!

    Like

  14. Happy for you Goose!

    Like

Leave a Reply

