Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

#1300

16 Comments

This is the 1300th post on the blog.  I wanted to write something meaningful, heartfelt, something about one of my favorite causes.  But instead let me tell you about today’s morning trip out into the 6 a.m. darkness to find the perfect spot.

I had been dreaming about my mother.  I lost the dream when I woke to find Katie standing on me asking to go out.  But I was thinking about mom when I clicked Katie’s leash onto her collar and we ventured out into the cool morning air.  The stars were out.  I glanced up and saw Orion’s belt, my representation of my mom, in the sky.   I don’t think I’ve seen it all summer and it felt good to have her overhead again.

We walked down to the end of the driveway, Katie, mom and I; Katie  sniffing her usual places where other dogs leave her messages.  I was watching the sky and thinking about mom when I realized Katie wasn’t sniffing anymore. She was staring intently over at the neighbor’s yard.  “That’s just our shadows silly girl” I told her.  And I moved a little just to prove my point.

And then we heard this;  you only have to hear the first few seconds to get the effect.  The sound was just over our property line…perhaps 20 yards away.  Katie didn’t even bark back.  She looked at me.  I looked at her and together we hustled back to the house.

We were creeped out, but not as much as if Katie’s dad hadn’t heard this last week when he was out with Katie around midnight.  He described it and found it on youtube for us to hear.  So I wasn’t so surprised once I got my heart rate back down and could think about it.  I don’t think the fox would have come toward us.  Katie wants to go back outside.  But I’m not taking any chances.

Not till the sun is up anyway.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

16 thoughts on “#1300

  1. Cool! I love foxes. Played the video, and now Chewy is looking out the window for the fox.

    Like

  2. I was up walking each dog to…attend to messages….this morning, around 5:15 and noticed the sky and orion’s belt, too! I even talked to the dog, telling her, ”there’s orion’s belt…” funny. I had a flashlight to scout out any unwelcome feral visitors…we are we are overloaded with foxes in or near the woods. Dew chases them. they’re usually skitish, but could be rabid.,….nice post

    Like

  3. yikes! sorry about that post! We have a lot of foxes here, and Sundew chases them. they usually flee but if rabid will turn and fight. Other than that…who knows? nice post…

    Like

  4. Thanks for the National G info! I hear those sounds often. I knew it was a fox, but always believed that it was in the process of eviscerating a prey. Now I know that’s not the case!

    Like

  5. Yelpy kind of bark, isn’t it? Do you have coyotes, too? Sometimes they sound as if they’re right under our bedroom window, but Sarah never even lifts her head or turns a hair. Let her hear another DOG, though, and she’s up and ready for FUN!

    Like

  6. I don’t think a fox would have bothered you – they tend to be terribly shy most the time. Happy 1300 – we just passed 1000 and didn’t even notice 🙂

    Like

  7. Inside is the best place to be, I think. That sound in the dark hours would send me packing.

    Like

  8. It must be so wild to hear that fox in the early morning hours. I heard coyotes barking for the first time the other night in SD and that was an eerie sound too.

    Like

  9. Oh my dog. That sound was super scary to mommy. She would have been freaked out by that fox.

    Like

  10. Bowsers, that sounded like Sherman when I step on his tail.

    Essex

    Like

  11. 1,300?! Holy wow and congrats! I’m inching toward 300…slowly at my current rate.
    That fox sure doesn’t sound welcoming, but the one in the video is CUTE. I don’t confuse cute for cuddly, though. Good choice keeping Katie in.

    Like

  12. Congrats on your 1300th post — what an accomplishment!

    Like

  13. Love Foxes!
    Congrats on your 1300th post. WOW> Xx

    Like

  14. It sounds like a pug! It really does. They make the oddest sounds. Oh, come on–camp for us and see if you can get a picture! I love red foxes. 😀 Congrats on your #1300 post!

    Like

  15. 1300! That’s amazing and wonderful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

