Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Frying pan musings

9 Comments

I woke this morning to remnants of a dream floating almost out of reach.  My mom was in the dream, along with me and someone else I can’t quite place.  We were talking about modern  kitchen tools.  Specifically the discussion centered on how the latest electric frying pan had a searing function to keep meat juicy. Trust me I have no idea how that would work in a frying pan or why my brain came up with this concept.

In my dream I recalled my mom’s electric frying pan, the one she took with us when we camped, the old pan without a nonstick surface that had to be scrubbed after each use.  I asked Mom if it had any special features, and whether I could read the manual.  “A manual” she exclaimed, “a manual?  You’re kidding right?  I’ve had that old frying pan for over twenty years.  If there ever was a manual I have no idea where it is now.”

As I began to wake from the dream I thought about my own electric frying pan, newer, with a surface that keeps the worst burned food from sticking.  And I realize that in twenty years I won’t know whether there had ever been a manual either; in fact I probably won’t even know where the frying pan is.  I woke doing the math and was startled.  In twenty years I will be older than my mother ever was.  Huh.  That’s an odd concept – to be older than my mom.   It took me a few minutes to digest.

Two weekends ago I went to a wedding that happened to be on my mom’s birthday.  I was sitting next to a college roommate at the reception, a woman I’ve known for over thirty years.  She mentioned that it was her mom’s birthday.  I was incredulous.  All these years we never realized our mothers shared a birthday.

Country wedding.

Country wedding.

So I’ve been missing my mom and I guess this dream was a way for us to have a visit of sorts, though I would choose something more interesting than an electric frying pan to discuss if I ever had the chance to talk with her.  I think.  On the other hand that frying pan held good memories.

This morning I lay in bed for a few extra seconds, remembering.  Then I hugged the dog and began to get ready for another day.  Tonight maybe I’ll make dinner in my electric frying pan.

And talk to my mom about the old days.

First time motherhood.

First time motherhood.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

9 thoughts on “Frying pan musings

  1. In my childood, electric frying pans for for pork chops and pancakes! Yum!

    I don’t own one, but always wish I did, every time I attempt to cook pancakes (they never taste like my mom’s).

    Like

  2. Your efforts to find your camera manual must be seeping through 😉
    All-in-all, it sounds like it was a good dream.

    Like

  3. Having spent most of my younger life wandering around australia in a trailer (or caravan as we call them back home) the electric frypan was something I remember so well. SUnday lunch was always cooked it in, breakfast was always cooked it in – when space was at a premium – it was a must.

    Like

  4. Funny how our dreams go sometimes. Don’t you just wonder what prompted that? It was nice that you were able to visit with your mother for awhile, even if the conversation was about an electric frying pan. I always associate a cast iron frying pan with my mom. Then, oh my gosh! The picture of your mom at the bottom – when I was about 10 we lived in a trailer that looked so much like that one! I must rummage through old pictures again!

    Like

  5. I’m not sure we have an electric frying pan, butt it does sound intriguing. Mommy cooks her food burnt beyond burnt — so this idea of her burnt meatballs not sticking to a regular frying pan could be something to look into.

    Like

  6. Ordinary, everyday things are some of the conversations I miss having most with my dearly departed Joe. What you have for lunch? did it rain this much last year? Sure we like to talk about the fat too but the insignificant is what I miss most. If you didn’t use the frying pan tonight, I hope you’ll fire it up over the weekend!

    Like

  7. Dreams are funny things. I can’t remember the last time I remember my dreams.

    Like

  8. That was an interesting dream. Wonder if Katie dreams about electric frying pans. BOL

    Essex & Sherman

    Like

  9. Isn’t it odd how we try to work things out in our dreams? Yes, I’ll just bet you were missing your mom, Dawn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

