Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Another leg

13 Comments

On the road again.

On the road again.

Katie, husband and I went to an obedience trial today.  She earned her 2nd leg (out of 3 required) for Novice Obedience.  I got us there way way too early.  Again.  Supposedly they were starting at 11 and I counted the entries, did the math, and we showed up about 12:30.  I don’t think we were on deck until after 4.  Katie spent the time in her crate or on her Dad’s lap, or wandering around with me.  The building was very hot and small.  It was a long wait.

Hanging with my Daddy!

Hanging with my Daddy!

There were 3 dogs entered in Novice B (the novice class for people that have titled a dog previously) and 4 of us in Novice A (the novice class for people that have never done this before.)   By the time we got going Katie was pretty much over it all..but she did just fine considering.  She was excellent during the stand for exam – she didn’t move at all.  Such a good girl!  She lagged on the heeling, and came in way way crooked on the recall.  But at least she came when I called!  We saw other dogs in higher levels that just sat there when their folks asked them to come!

Only one of the 3 dogs in Novice B qualified; the other two in that class laid down during the long sit.  It was hot in that building and I don’t blame them at all!

Katie sits like a good dog.

Katie sits like a good dog.

Only two of the four of us in Novice A qualified, the other two dogs went crazy and either had zoomies during their run or walked away during the long sit.  Sad for their owners.  But I was proud of Katie.  She looked at all the nonsense surrounding her during the long sits and downs and just stared at me.  She didn’t move.  Did I mention she’s a good dog?

So all in all, she earned her ribbon, hung out like a trooper, smiled at me before we began and did her best to follow my somewhat bumbling directions.

Oh yea…she’s a very good dog.

Another ribbon for the girl.

Another ribbon for the girl.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “Another leg

  1. How wonderful for both of you!

    Like

  2. Good girl Katie, you make your mama and dad proud.

    Like

  3. So proud of you both! The long sits/downs are tough and on a hot day very tough! You’ll get the arrival timing down…it just takes, well, time. 😀

    Like

  4. She is a very good girl and you BOTH did awesome. That would not of been easy being in a hot building and having to wait – especially with a big fur coat 🙂

    Like

  5. She is GOOD! What a bummer to have to spend all that time waiting. I’d have been one cranky human.

    What a little trooper 🙂

    Like

  6. Wow, both of you are great!

    Like

  7. What a good girl! Hope she enjoys her ribbon 🙂

    Like

  8. Congratulations! Good job, both of you.

    Like

  9. Congrats, Dawn and Katie — you’re both winners1

    Like

  10. You guys did great! We do all the training and training. Maybe what we really should train is going into a hot building and sitting there for 5 hours! I hate that trials take so long and it is impossible to estimate the time of your turn!

    Like

  11. What a good girl, indeed! Congratulations on your successful training and great relationship with your dog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

