Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Awesome weekend!

15 Comments

Katie here.  Bet you just can’t wait to hear about my awesome weekend!   It was great!  I’m going to have to sleep for three straight days just to get rested up!

First of all I got to go to school Saturday morning.  I love love love going to my school.  Mama said something about me paying attention cause we have some doggie trial or something next weekend.  But I just did my thing.  Came in crooked on the recall.  Lagged behind Mama during the off leash heeling.  But still.  Being a princess and all that was pretty good.  I DID sit still while all the other doggies moved on the long sit and long down.  I know for sure that when I’m uncertain I only have to look at my Mama and if she’s staring at me I’m not supposed to move.  So I don’t.  Cause I’m a good girl.  Yes I am.

This picture was taken a couple of weeks ago when my Aunt B was here, but it shows you me at school.  Cause I knew you’d want to see.

Sitting straight

Sitting straight

Then Saturday afternoon I supervised Mama while she was working in the garden.  I love sitting out there while she’s working.  We stayed outside a long time and I couldn’t have been happier.

Mama's flowers.  And me.

Mama’s flowers. And me.

Well, that’s not quite exactly perfectly true.  I got even happier later in the day when my Mama put up my tent!  OH BOY OH BOY OH BOY!  We got to go camping!!  I just LOVE camping!  I could hardly wait to get out there and go to sleep next to my little window in the cool evening air.

My tent.

My tent.

Ah yes this is doggie heaven!  Mama was sleeping under four blankets, but I was perfectly happy to just be out there.  She gives me two pillows and a blanket all my own and I’m good.

My window

My window

Of course I got her up at 5:00 to go out. But she wasn’t even mad because the stars were so bright and pretty when we walked around the back yard.

Camping in our yard

Camping in our yard

I helped her pack the tent up last night but I’m hoping we’ll get to camp next weekend too.  Mama even said something about going to a real campground!  Wouldn’t that be cool?

THEN guess what?  We got to go to my park on Sunday!  TWICE!

Resting on our walk

Resting on our walk

The first time was the farmer’s market where I got to sniff a bunch of stuff and I even ran into the vegetable guy’s sheltie.  I’m not too sure about him, but I liked everyone else that talked to me.  And THEN Mama took be back to my park Sunday evening!  Hot dog!  A walk in my park where I got to look for ground squirrels and baby rabbits!

My park

My park

This weekend turned out to be super fun!  Too bad Mama has to go to work today.  On the other hand, I could use the rest.  I sure am one happy tired puppy!

Have a happy Monday everyone!

Happy dog!

Happy dog!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

15 thoughts on “Awesome weekend!

  1. A perfect Katie weekend! I hope your mom does take you to a real campground someday ~ that would be a most excellent adventure (one that we keep tossing around ourselves).

    Have a good nap today Katie 🙂

    Like

  2. Dear Katie,

    Camping at a campground would be great fun, and I know you would not bark in the morning and wake anyone up. Would you?

    Sarah did not have a weekend as exciting as yours, but she did have some overnight company (and she loves company!), and today she is having a fun day off from work with her dog mom. Who knows what we will do? The day has just begun!

    Like

  3. I love your little window in the tent! Pawsome!

    Like

  4. you so deserve to have wonderful weekends like that EVERY weekend Miss Katie Princess. Love your little window – the perfect size and height for you 🙂

    Like

  5. you certainly had one GLORIOUS weekend! The weather was perfect too wasn’t it? I can tell by your “smile” that you just loved camping! I have to try that sometime! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    Like

  6. Katie, I am so glad you had such a great weekend! A princess like you certainly deserves it, and I’ll bet it made your mama happy too.

    Like

  7. Sit straight Katie, Sit straight. :-D. Nice job on not moving during long sits and down. You are a very good girl. This was a perfect weekend for camping and just about anything else outside….What a difference over last summer when we were melting in the heat. Love it.

    Like

  8. Katie – you had the kind of weekend that we all dream about!

    Like

  9. Katie, wanna trade places one of these weekends? I’d like to go camping! (You can keep the dog school, though.)

    Like

  10. Wonderful weekend, Princess Katie — you have a GOOD mama, you know!

    Like

  11. How I wish I could have a weekend like yours, Katie!

    ~Eva

    Like

  12. Katie, I am glad you give your mom so much fun on her days off work. Seriously, what would she do without you?

    Like

  13. You’re a lucky little dog–they don’t allow dogs into the farmers markets here, some kind of health regulation. Guess they’re concerned that the dogs might catch something from all those vile vegetables (Tika worries about this a lot).

    Like

Leave a Reply

