Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Park days

12 Comments

The weather has been wonderful this past week; cooler with high temperatures in the 80’s  (21’s C) and less humidity.  Katie and I took advantage of that one evening after work and went to her favorite park.

Just sitting with my Mama.

Just sitting with my Mama.

I took my book, thinking I could sit on the hillside and read, and she could explore while on her long line.  For a little bit she sat with me.  Then she went and stood at the end of her long line, facing the walking trail.  She didn’t cry, she didn’t tug.  She just stood there and waited.  She made me feel bad.  After all what is the point of going to the park if you aren’t going to go for a walk?

OK little one.

So we went for a long walk, all the way around.  Then because it was beautiful out we took a side trail over to the library and meandered up the library driveway back to another entrance to the park.  I figured we’d head back to the car and go home.

I always have to wait for her.

Mama…I always have to wait for her.

But as we approached the park entrance we saw a car we recognized enter the park and drive way over to the parking lot.  We were quite a ways away but we picked up our pace.  Still, by the time we got to the parking lot they were already unloaded and out of sight down the walking path.

So we hustled along and eventually caught up with Maddie, a miniature Australian Shepard and her folks.  Katie and I met Maddie when we were all in an agility class together a few years ago.  We learned then that we lived in the same town and went to the same park but we hardly ever run into them.  It’s been a couple years since we saw them last.

So of course we had to go on the walk with them, all the way around the park again.  Katie thought she was in heaven to get to do the walk again!  Though she slowed down some near the end.  After all she’d already had a long walk.

Maddie is just full of energy, and ran circles around Katie.  At one point, though, Katie did a play bow with Maddie and sort of leaped into the play.  For a moment.  Then she remembered she is a princess and stopped.  I think if they saw each other more often and were left to it they might actually play together.

Katie and Maddie

Katie and Maddie

Aren’t they cute?  We hope we run into them again this summer!

Evening with Katie

Evening with Katie

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Park days

  1. What a wonderful night, and a wonderful surprise to run into friends. This weather has been fantastic! If only the whole year could be this perfect.

    Enjoy your weekend girls!

    Like

  2. Wow your moms shadow is really tall. 🙂

    Like

  3. what a fun walk! Wish we would run into YOU at our park! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    Like

  4. now that is the best ever trip to the park – double walkies and with a friend.

    Like

  5. Glad you guys got out to enjoy that beautiful weather!

    Like

  6. Nothing better than a double-walk with Mama and a surprise pal!

    Like

  7. Double Walks, sign us up. Sounds like a pawsome time.

    Like

  8. Park, walk, friends — sounds great, Katie! And good morning, Dawn — I know you’re up and cruising blogs already this Sunday morning!

    Like

  9. Adorable pair of buddies! And a double walk, wow, I feel like a slacker!

    Like

  10. Two whole laps?! No wonder she’s got such a big smile plastered on 🙂
    I think I know just how she feels. I always want to go for just one more lap, but defer to husband when it’s hot out 😉 Now, where’d that park weather go?

    Like

Leave a Reply

