Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

No respect

8 Comments

I woke this morning to the news that someone has vandalized the Lincoln Memorial in Washington DC.

Mr. Lincoln

Mr. Lincoln

One of the beautiful things about our monuments is that you can visit around the clock.  Wandering them late on a warm summer night, when they are all lit up, when they are quiet without the hundreds of tourists, is a gift.  Perhaps it’s a gift we won’t always have.

Climbing to meet an important man.

Climbing to meet an important man.

All I can say to the person or people responsible is this:  If you don’t have any respect for yourselves at least have respect for your own history.

Number 16

Number 16

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

8 thoughts on “No respect

  1. I hadn’t heard about that yet. That is deplorable. You are right, “no respect” Sadly, that is prevalent in our society nowadays.

    Like

  2. I just don’t understand people sometimes 😦

    Like

  3. What is wrong with people?? Just sad!

    Like

  4. I fear we are failing at more and more things every day – foremost is respect. Responsibility. Consideration.

    Like

  5. Amen, Dawn! I’d hate to see our monuments open only for a few hours and only under the watchful supervision of guards! Some churches are like that, too. And it’s a crying shame!

    Like

  6. Awful.

    I remember the first time I saw that statue. I had no idea how massive it was going to be. Photos don’t do it justice.

    Like

  7. they “think” they are making some kind of statement – but the only statement they are really making is how stupid they are.

    Like

  8. We hope all the pups in D.C. catch them vandals and make a fire hydrant out of them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

