Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Mulching…the musical.

11 Comments

The FIRST truck load.

The FIRST truck load.

I can tell you with authority that it takes 13 pitchforks of mulch to fill a wheelbarrow and 18 pitchforks to fill my Tevye from Fiddler on the Roof’s  inspired weed cart.

But on Saturday afternoon into evening as I was trudging from the mulch pile in the driveway to the garden at the opposite end of the house I wasn’t singing “If I Were a Rich Man” though I suppose that would have been appropriate.  If I were rich I’d hire someone else to do this!

make sure we get it ALL!

Make sure we get it ALL!

Instead I was channeling Jean Valjean from Les Mis.  You know the opening scene where all the prisoners are pulling on ropes and singing “Look down, look down, don’t look ’em in the eye.  Look down, look down, you’re here until you die.”  Well, that was going through my head.  It was about the right tempo and I was feeling some of their pain and I hauled wheelbarrow after wheelbarrow around the house.

Little cart worked hard.

Little cart worked hard.

We finished moving this latest 10 yards tonight after spending most of this hot afternoon avoiding the project.  The good part about stalling was that, though it was still hot when we began, part of the garden was in the shade!

Summer garden.

Summer garden.

Sure…I was still hauling mulch around the house…but the end was in sight., so there was less depressing singing in my head.  And it sure looks good when it’s done.

Don’t you agree?

Makes me smile.

Makes me smile.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

11 thoughts on “Mulching…the musical.

  1. Kind of reminds me of Tennessee Ernie Ford’s ” 16 Tons” song. ♫ ” You load 16 tons, what do you get? Another day older and deeper in debt…” ♪ ♫ 🙂

    Like

  2. 24601!!!!!
    I used to help my mom mulch all her beds, but mostly try to do without. I am both too cheap and lazy. Impressed that you worked in this heat, though. I was out on the water!

    Like

  3. Wow, that’s a lot of mulch! Your landscaping is gorgeous! Your yard looks like a park.

    Like

  4. You are a hard worker! Reminds me of my days on a garden crew, working with a friend who had the business. That was my morning job, before I cleaned up and opened the bookstore. “Sixteen Tons,” indeed! Good call, Judy!

    Like

  5. Ugh, that is not I job I envy at all! Had a dump truck deliver mulch once, will never do it again – WAY too much work to move it. I make do with a few bags these days, when I bother, lol! It does look lovely though!

    Like

  6. Hmmm so running 5 miles isn’t hard exercise but doing mulch is…..it does looks good and think of the strength training you were doing 🙂

    Like

  7. Your yard is going to be a showplace! I don’t envy you this back-breaking work, though. I suppose the good thing is, you probably slept like a rock that night, ha!

    Like

  8. Smiling about Les Mis. Great song to sing while you’re working so hard! We badly need manure for our garden. A huge load. We’ll have to wait until fall. Then I’ll be singing along with you. “If I were a rich man…”

    Like

  9. Hard work! I hire labor from Craigslist to spread wood chips. They are happy for the work and it doesn’t break the bank. Yes, I have teen labor but he is helpful in other ways so I don’t push yard work. Your yard is going to look great.
    (Ever since Google Reader went by the by, I’ve been having trouble adjusting to my new reader. Sorry about the slow catch up!)

    Like

  10. I think if it was so hot — I would have been singing… One Day More… and finish the mulching tomorrow.

    Like

  11. I felt a lot like that doing the patio recently!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

