Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Guess what?

24 Comments

Katie here.  Guess what, guess what, guess what!?!?!  OK.  Maybe you can guess cause my Mama posted it on Facebook.  But I don’t know if all you doggies read Facebook.

This is MY window!

I love camping!

My Mama and I got to go camping!  I know, I know.  It was just in the backyard and some of you don’t think that’s camping at all.  But we have lots of wild animals around here that smell extra exotic when you’re in a tent.  Trust me on this.

It was a beautiful night to be sleeping outside.  With no rain in the forecast Mama didn’t even put the rain fly on the tent so we got to look at the stars and the fireflies as we dozed off.  Well.  She did.  After a little sniffing I went right to sleep.

And I didn’t bark at one thing!  Not one!!  Even when a creepy bird flew by and made squawking noises, or the motorcycle guy roared up the road, or the people at the party across the street got loud or those two planes went overhead, or the train came through town!  Mama said I was very good.

She kept trying to get a picture of me sleeping upside down.  But every time she turned on the camera I woke up.  I gave her my “don’t bug me now Mama, I was sleeping” glare and that pretty much settled her down for the night.  Mamas sometimes need to know who is boss.

Stop it Mama!

Stop it Mama!

Geesh.

She’s always saying that I get her up way too early.  And you know what?  Mama’s the one that got up at 5 this morning cause it was so light out and she said she had to ‘go.’  Whatever that means.

Now we’re getting ready to go to school.  Best weekend ever!

MY window!

MY window!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

24 thoughts on “Guess what?

  1. How fun! I love backyard adventures!

    Like

  2. Emma wants Katie to know that she doesn’t bark at night either. Even when a bear comes to ruin the bird feeders.

    Like

  3. You gave the Momma a very good “don’t bother me glare” – I mean to say – really – what gives with trying to get a photo of you napping!

    Like

  4. Sounds like a fun adventure. I cant believe u didnt bark at anything.

    Like

  5. That’s so cool!!! Mum says she’s too scared to sleep outside here with the bears, coyotes and mountain lions. But we love sleeping with all the windows of the cabin open, lol! Sounds like you had so much fun!

    Like

  6. What a fun night! I can’t believe you didn’t spend more time staring at the stars – or barking 😉

    Like

  7. YAY for you!!! Wish I could go camping!

    Like

  8. You two know how to have fun! Cole thinks Katie is one cool girl!

    Like

  9. Awesome Katie! Sounds like you and your mama had a great time!

    Like

  10. Katie, did the mosquitoes bite you a lot? We are having a banner mosquito year up here in the UP and camping sounds like it might be way too painful…

    Like

  11. Katie sleeps on her back?? Gee, how cute is that?! Dallas refuses. In all his six years of life, never once have I caught him sleeping on his back. I’ve heard they won’t do it unless they’re totally relaxed — wonder why he isn’t?? Anyway, sounds like a lovely adventure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

