Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Activity after

17 Comments

Pretty

Pretty

Sunday my sister and aunt and I picked cherries at a local orchard.  This is the place my family has picked cherries ever since we were little kids.  So in a way it was nostalgic to be there…

Picking

Picking

…but in a way not so much as they have planted new trees since we were kids and this weekend we were picking at the new location.  The picking was sparse but we got enough cherries to freeze a few and make a pie.

Future pies

Future pies

Then Sunday evening husband, sister and I went to the county fair…

Crazy

Crazy

…where we walked around analyzing the rides, trying to decide if there was one I could go on without getting sick.

Crazy

Crazy

We wandered around, standing in front of each ride…

Fun times

Fun times

….and concluded that perhaps the ferris wheel was the only safe bet.

Fun

Fun

So we bought tickets and boarded the ride.  Which was when I suddenly realized I was really sore from my Saturday morning run.  I had a really really hard time stepping up into the gondola…

On the ferris wheel

On the ferris wheel

…and an even harder time getting out after our ride!  So even though I was feeling pretty good since that run and a bit surprised that I hadn’t felt any soreness I apparently had forgotten that I am usually most sore two days after a run, which means….that this morning, Monday, I could barely get out of bed.  Yea.  Now I remember what it’s like to be a runner.

It’s darn wonderful.

Sisters at the fair

Sisters at the fair

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

17 thoughts on “Activity after

  1. That sounds like a fun day, and you know you had a good time when you’re a little bit achy.

    Like

  2. When I was a child we had a cherry tree in our backyard. The cherries were quite sour, but my mom made the most delicious cobblers! We loved to climb and play in that cherry tree so much. Thanks for the memory…

    Like

  3. Fresh cherry pie – priceless. Sore muscles – a reminder that you pushed yourself, but something I prefer to do without. You are a hardy soul.

    Like

  4. The cherries look really good!! I’m not to much into the fair anymore. So glad my kids are grown and I don’t have to go to the state fair. Lol

    Like

  5. I really like how your posts are stories with illustrations. Still waiting for the fairs to get rolling here… 🙂

    Like

  6. have had rheumatoid 2/3 of my life… waking up feeling like i have run a marathon is pretty much the norm most mornings so why would you want that 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

  7. U two look alike. I can tell u r sisters. Sounds like u had a pawsome time together. Fun.

    Like

  8. I love to look at the cherries, but after having pitted them myself, I prefer someone else to do it for me 😉
    I’m sorest the next day, but my husband is like you – the second day is the telling one. Tomorrow you’ll be on the mend 🙂

    Like

  9. Really nice! That’s a Michigan thing, picking cherries? I don’t think cherries are a Massachusetts species that I know of – never seen local ones.

    Like

  10. I love red sour cherries! My mom makes the best cherry pie in the world!

    Like

  11. Beautiful photos, as always, Dawn. And yes, sweet cherry harvest has begun Up North, too. Summer is a-runnin’ by!

    Like

Leave a Reply

