Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Whatever

10 Comments

The mortgage industry at the end of any month is crazy.  Lots of people trying to get lots of stuff done before the new month begins.  Some programs require that.  Mostly it’s just people trying to meet deadlines, some imaginary, some not.  Add in a full moon, especially the biggest moon in months and interest rates rising quickly for the first time in years.  Do you know what you get?  You get long thankless hours and never ending emails and phone calls.  Everyone is in crisis.  Everyone has a story.  All the messages are marked urgent.  People call to tell you they left you an email and wonder if you’ve read it yet.  People email to tell you they’re going to call.  Multiple people call and email on the same problem.  Emails overlap, the problems escalate.

So is it any wonder that Friday morning I woke up thinking I had slept wrong.  A kink in the back, right between my shoulder blades.  Work Friday was excruciating. Sitting, standing, walking all hurt.  Sleeping that night was pretty impossible and all day Saturday I hobbled around trying not to move my head more than necessary, trying to keep my torso straight, my head balanced directly over my shoulders.  Getting up and down from sofa or bed was horrible.  I slept in fits all day and again all Saturday night.

This morning  the pain is still there but it has dulled.  I can get up and move around a little.  I’ve taken the dog out several times, done some chores, even bending over to empty the dishwasher.  I think I’m on the way back.  Of course.  Tomorrow it’s back to work and the cycle begins again.  But the month is over, the moon is shrinking.  Hopefully work craziness will recede as well.  You never know.

On a brighter note, Katie made me get up earlier today than I might have wished.  This is what we saw when we got outside.

Early morning at Katie's house.

Early morning at Katie’s house.

Katie tells me I should thank her more often when she gets me up early.  She says maybe she’s the reason I feel better today.  She says if she could go to work with me everyone would be happier.

And she says I can thank her later.

Let's get MOVING!

Let’s get MOVING Mama!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “Whatever

  1. Good job Katie!

    Geez, I hope you have a better week, and that your physical pains go away too. Take it easy.

    Like

  2. Cool sunrise! Glad I’m out of the rat race.

    Like

  3. Sorry to hear of the pains in the neck!
    Beautiful picture!

    Like

  4. In that field, be it the lender or the escrow, it is all the same, isn’t it? I used to dread the full moon at month end – it brings out the worst in people and often I wondered if I’d survive it. Telll Katie thank you for giving us the opportunity to share your wonderful early morning sky, it’s just gorgeous.

    Like

  5. That picture is awesome!!

    Like

  6. Sounds like you need a trip to the chiropractor…or a good massage 🙂

    Like

  7. What she said ^^ 😉
    Also, nice job Katie! Sometimes a weekend destressor fixes all kinds of aches and pains.

    Like

  8. Hoping you feel better soon, Dawn. Pain like that isn’t any fun. Sorry to hear about the end-of-the-month stress at work.

    Like

  9. Dogs DO make it all better, don’t they? Of course, now that Mercury is retrograde, it’s no wonder that you’re having issues at work — here’s hoping your pains subside soon!

    Like

  10. Hope you’re feeling better! Hope work is better too. That picture you posted would be perfect for the “cloud” prompt of the photo hunt! Not too late to share some shots for that! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

