Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Piggy in the tunnel!

12 Comments

Katie here.  Guess what?  My Aunt B made up a new game for me!  Just for me!  Isn’t that cool?  Listen up, this is how it works:

First you put your tunnel in your people’s living room, or some other big room, where there’s lots of room to run.   If it can be in front of the TV even better so all your peeps have to focus on you!  You You You!  Remember, lesson #1.  It’s all about YOU!

Do you see my nose?

Do you see me?

So anyway….you’ve got your tunnel set up, right?  And then your person takes one of your favorite stuffed toys, preferably a pig, and throws it into one end of your tunnel while shouting “PIGGY IN THE TUNNEL!” At that same moment you get all excited and dash into the other end, through the tunnel, scooping up your pig and emerging with it from the end of the tunnel near your person.

Here I come!

Here I come!

But of course you don’t just hand it off to your person.  OF COURSE NOT!  Pay attention all you doggies!  Do NOT give it to the person sitting near your tunnel!  Oh no!  Run right past her!  Take it to the person sitting on the sofa who is ignoring all this play.  That way you engage them and remind them it’s ALL ABOUT  YOU!  YOU YOU YOU!

Got it?  OK.

So then you get the person on the sofa to toss it to the person sitting by your tunnel.  And then you know what happens?  She throws it into your tunnel and yells “PIGGY IN THE TUNNEL!” and you run really really fast into the other end and race out with the piggy again!

Throw it again!

Throw it again!

You can do this as many times as you want…cause your people will think you are so cute they will keep playing and laughing and tossing the pig.  It’s really fun.

And you know what else?  When you get bored remember that you are in charge!  Remember it’s all about YOU YOU YOU!  They throw the pig in the tunnel and holler and you race  in there and through it and leave the pig there!  They will laugh so hard, but they will also know you’re done with the game for awhile.

I'm laughing at my Aunt.

I’m laughing at my Aunt.

Of course once they all go back to their regular boring stuff you can always race through the tunnel on your own and grab that pig and drop it at their feet.  Pretty much I’ve found that gets them right back into the game.  Every time.

Because they know it’s all about you.

You can thank me later.

You can thank me later.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Piggy in the tunnel!

  1. Go Katie! You’ll get your people’s priorities straight yet.

    Like

  2. Hey Katie – GOOD THINKING!!! your pals, Morgan & Maisie

    Like

  3. Now that is the prettiest smartest Sheltie girl at work….thank YOU for showing us how to train our peeps better.

    Like

  4. Oh Katie, you are one smart and silly cookie! Love you!

    Like

  5. LOL! Sounds like a fun game. Katie, you should try to get your people to video you playing the game!

    Like

  6. I’ll thank you right now, Princess Katie — what a fun game to play! And I especially like that you can get some exercise even on icky days.

    Like

  7. Bowsers, that sure looks like fun.

    We have award for you on our blog.

    Essex & Sherman

    Like

  8. I love Katie’s posts. They remind me to live in the moment and never forget to play!

    Like

  9. Katie, you are brilliant!!! This game looks great, if only I had a tunnel… But of course, I will remember I I ever play this, it’s all about ME ME ME!
    Have a super week,
    Pippa 🙂

    Like

    • HI Pippa! I went and read about your latest adventure! You are very brave! Katie doesn’t like a lot of the same stuff you don’t like. She’s working on being more brave too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

