Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Biking through the park and mooing with ice cream.

7 Comments

Last Tuesday sister and I met our Aunt at one of my favorite parks. (Click on photos to see more detail.)  We brought our bikes and before lunch we rode the 8 mile trail around the big lake.  Did I mention there are hills here?

We just came up this hill!

We just came up this hill!

It was a beautiful day, sunny with a little breeze to keep the flies at bay.

Riding through the woods.

Riding through the woods.

We also hiked a little bit in the nature area; we saw some sandhill cranes, swans, ducks, and blue herons with young ones still in the nest.

We took lots of pictures.

Looking for the cranes.

We had a lot of fun goofing off, enjoying the sunshine, the park, and each other…

We took lots of pictures.

We took lots of pictures.

…and we found out it’s not always easy to keep up with an 80 year old!

The girls

The girls

Friday night sister and husband and I went to the local dairy for ice cream.  It’s the best ice cream around.  I had udder butter (peanut butter and chocolate) and my sister had moocachino (coffee flavored).

Ice cream maker.

Ice cream maker.

We got to pet a really cute calf.

Big brown eyes.

Big brown eyes.

And stand beside really big cows.

BIG cows.

BIG cows.

I’m convinced you can’t have exceptional ice cream without the cow scent to accompany it.  Darn that was good.

Evening sun.

Evening sun.

All in all a very good week.

Water lily at the park.

Water lily at the park.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

7 thoughts on “Biking through the park and mooing with ice cream.

  1. You sure showed your sister a good time when she visited last weekend! Hope I can walk let alone ride a bike when I am 80!

    Like

  2. Did Katie know you were out playing without her? Kudos to your aunt – I’m not sure I could do the hills part of your bike ride and I’m not 80. Yet.

    Like

  3. Wish we had our very own cow ice cream maker like that. Nice cows.

    Like

  4. Looks like fun! Knowing where/who your ice cream came from does make it taste better!

    Like

  5. that is one of my weird dreams – I always wanted to have a jersey cow – how could you risist those eyes – not to mention fresh milk

    Like

  6. A dairy selling ice cream is the best idea I’ve heard yet.

    Your aunt must be AMAZING!

    Like

  7. I think you have to get ice cream (Moomers?) after physical exertion. I’m pretty sure it’s a rule.
    And thank goodness for breezes when it comes to those awful flies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

