Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Rush hour musings

14 Comments

The traffic was stop and go on my way to work today.  So I had a lot of time to contemplate the license plate on the car just in front of me.

IOALOT

Say it out loud.   You’ll get it.

After I got it I started looking at the car itself.  Was it a Lexus, a BMW, a Cadillac?  No.  It was a very very old Oldsmobile.  They don’t even make the Oldsmobile anymore…and this wasn’t one of the last ones built.

It was big as a tank, square, low.  Probably rides great and still looks pretty good except for the rust around the bottom of the trunk lid.  So.  He owes a lot.  Obviously not on this car, so must be somewhere else.   Which made me wonder.   Aren’t vanity plates expensive?  If you owe a lot why would you spend money on a more expensive license plate?

Oh.  Wait.  Maybe he compulsively buys things.  Like vanity plates.  Maybe that’s why he owes a lot.

You know, I bet there’s more to this story.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “Rush hour musings

  1. Not sure I’d advertise that way but I am intrigued.

    Like

  2. I have one – Aussie 🙂 They cost $20 extra but that money goes to the Arkansas childrens fund. Oh – I got mine because I can’t remember numbers and would never find my car in the car park otherwise…of coarse I do have the only c-max in the city – and the only turquoise color I have seen here….I guess I must just be plain old vain – or plain old OLD 🙂

    Like

  3. Vanity plates quite often get me to thinking too. Okay, Paul Harvey, what”s the rest of the story??

    Like

  4. –Man, you are a deep thinker when you drive, Dawn! Xxx

    Like

  5. When I first saw the plate, I thought maybe it was a person who had many blessings and felt they owed a lot of gratitude. Probably not the case since they are driving a big old car.

    Like

  6. I read all the way to the end…You owe us more!!

    Like

  7. I read all the way to the end…You owe us more!!

    PS The comment in moderation from ccoleybear was an error–Cole’s account. I’ll
    ‘splan latter

    Like

  8. I’m amused at your ponderings. If he’s anything like me, he owes a lot on student loans, but decides he must live despite them, and so chooses to spend his pennies on other things and let the loans gather dust 😉
    (Okay, so my loans aren’t gathering dust, but I’m not spending my entire paycheck trying to shrink them…)

    Like

  9. Clever! Maybe he owes a lot of taxes?

    Those Olds really do drive like a dream, don’t they? Like riding on air.

    Like

  10. A very interesting license plate 🙂

    Like

  11. Hmm, I love a good mystery! Perhaps he’s recently divorced and his ex got the fancy car and the house — that he has to pay for?!?

    Like

  12. Funny. Oh we could tell a LOT of stories about this fellow. Good stories, bad stories, happy stories, sad stories. Here’s the first one that popped into my head. Maybe he didn’t have any health insurance and his wife got really sick and they owe the hospital over $ 100,000. Maybe he feels sad and useless but thought the vanity license plate–even though expensive–would cheer him up and it made his wife laugh when she saw it. Maybe he thought, “What the heck, what’s another little bit of money if it will make us smile?” And so he bought it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

