Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

It’s turtle time

14 Comments

This morning outside my window I saw this:

Mama turtle on a walk.

Mama turtle on a walk.

I left Katie inside and went out to see what she was doing.  I think she was headed up our hill to lay eggs.

She was hissing at me.

She’s hissing at me.

This is the third snapping turtle I’ve seen over on this side of our yard this week; the other two were even larger than today’s mama.  Pretty soon we should be overrun with baby turtles.  But it rarely happens that way.  Usually I find one or two a summer somewhere in our yard and I take them across the street to the pond where their mamas live.

You can read about one of my baby turtle adventures and a time we tried to help a mama.  I learned a lot that day!

Meanwhile after a quick photo I left her alone to do her job.   I hope she makes it back across the road when she’s finished.  I know I’m not going to be helping her back to the pond!

PS:  More than 4 hours later I am weeding a bed at the front of the house when I realize there’s a nest in a crab tree and a robin is sitting on it.  That’s nice.  But it’s in the middle of where I need to weed.  She’s watching me.  I go inside to discuss the problem with husband who is planning on rotatilling that area this afternoon.  I don’t think that is a good idea.  I think we should let the grass grow there till after any babies fly away.  I go back outside.  She’s not sitting on the nest.  I work for a little while and she starts to scold me from a nearby tree.  I move my wheelbarrow, myself and my shovel to the front porch and watch.  She flies back to her nest.

Maybe I should give up on this garden and move to the one at the south of the house.  I go inside and over to the window overlooking that weed infested garden to see if the sun is there yet, hoping for shade.  And I see this:

Might be same mama.  Might not.

Might be same mama. Might not.

She stops and sniffs the air, then makes a beeline for the garden.

Didn't want to weed today anyway.

Didn’t want to weed today anyway.

I watch her walk through the garden right up to the house.  She’s staring at me in the window the whole time.

I see you!

I see you!

She’s under the deck now.  Hopefully laying more eggs.  Katie is inside, the door to the deck open.  Suddenly she’s barking and staring down between the deck boards.  I shut the door.

Wildlife 2.  Weeding 0.

That’s fine with me.

Stunning

Stunning

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “It’s turtle time

  1. It doesn’t pay to mess with grown snappers.

    Like

      • Hey Judy Bell: Will turtles lay more than one batch of eggs in different spots the same day? I’m pretty sure the turtle now under my deck is the same one I saw 5 hours ago. Where she’s been in between I don’t know, but most turtles lay eggs in our hill near the road, across the street from the pond..so I assume that’s what she was doing. Haven’t been out there to see if there’s a new dug up spot. (we have two already). So now I’m assuming she’s laying eggs under the deck. Or maybe just resting, but the pond is the other way…so seems odd she didn’t just go back there.

        Like

      • I really don’t know if snappers lay more than one batch of eggs. I do know that they do go out walking about though.

        Like

  2. Cool! I just read an article about how to help a snapping turtle cross the road. I guess you should pick it up by the back of its shell. Jeff is always stopping his car, and traffic, to help turtles (and ducks and geese).

    Like

  3. that is funny but rather scary too! Hoping this turtle will be ok!

    Like

  4. Good plan with the not helping 😉 Those things are vicious!

    Like

  5. Yes – that is exactly what we saw and had to wait for while it crossed the road in front of us….looks about the same size too.

    Like

  6. So interesting! I do agree however, she’s something to be watched from a distance.

    Like

  7. It does sound like the wildlife were winning at your house! (What a good excuse to quit weeding, too.) There’s something about turtles. Always enjoy seeing them–and never see enough of them, it seems. I like your pic where you say “didn’t want to weed today anyway”. That’s a great angle, Dawn.

    Like

  8. Anything’s a good excuse not to weed, ha! We’ve been watching for bunnies — Dallas likes to think he’s their surrogate mama. Squirrels and cats he chases away, but he so wants to play with the bunnies!

    Like

  9. That is one big turtle. We clicked on your link to how u tried to help with a laundry basket. We thought that was a good idea.

    Like

Leave a Reply

