Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

A lovely weekend

13 Comments

This is all mine!

This is all mine!

Katie here….Three day weekends should be the norm because then I’d have my Mama around more and we could do more fun things.  Like going to my park!  Mama kept promising me all weekend that we’d go to the park.  She said that a lot while she was weeding and hauling mulch and stuff.  After awhile I didn’t believe her anymore.

So when Dad said “Hey Katie-girl (I was sleeping and he woke me up!)…do you want to go to the park!?”  I knew something was up.  He never asks me that.  So I got all excited and missed the evil look my Mama gave my Dad, cause I guess she was busy with something and now she was going to have to stop doing it and take me right away because Dad got me all riled up.   It worked too!  I should probably pay Dad a commission or something.

Come on Mama, hurry up!

Come on Mama, hurry up!

We had the park all to ourselves.  I guess Mama had planned on taking me to a bigger park, but then she realized that those parks would be full of people doing Memorial Day stuff so we just went to my local park.  I didn’t care, I was so excited to be there I didn’t even want any treats when Mama offered.  I just wanted to sniff!

Every year Mama takes me to this park to take my picture with the pretty yellow flowers.  I don’t know why, I always look the same.  She says this year we were a little late.  I don’t know what she’s talking about.  I still look beautiful even though I am six and a half years old.  Little late.  Sheesh.

A Sheltie is never late.

A Sheltie is never late.

We practiced some obedience along the way too.  And of course Mama did that distracted recall thing.  I’m really really good at that.  I love running back to my Mama when she calls.

Coming Mama!

Coming Mama!

Toward the end of our walk the sky got dark and it started to sprinkle.  I don’t care so much, but Mama said we had to get back.  You see, we tried camping last night in the back yard for the first time this season and Mama said we needed to get back to the house so we could get all the camping stuff back inside.  Whatever Mama.  It’s not like we spent very long out in the tent last night.  It was stinking cold!  But I’m not worried, I know there’s going to be plenty of camping nights this summer.

Here's me being 'dramatic' before the rain.

Here’s me being ‘dramatic’ before the rain.

I had a great weekend.  Too bad Mama has to go back to work today.  On the other hand, I could use a nap!

What are we doing next weekend Mama?

What are we doing next weekend Mama?

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “A lovely weekend

  1. Yay for three day weekends! Glad you all had a good time 🙂 Only four days until Friday.

    Like

  2. We think every day should be a holiday…that way we could go to the park every day. You certainly were looking beautiful miss katie

    Like

  3. Katie you are sooooooooo beautiful! I love that “Sheltie Smile!” Mom and Dad kept talking about taking me to the park too but we never got there! I should have gone with YOU instead! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    Like

  4. Every weekend should have three days in it, huh Katie?

    Like

  5. I wish I could have your weekend and your mom is so sweet.

    ~ Eva

    Like

  6. Glad you had a wonderful weekend, Princess Katie. You’re lucky you were able to get out — it rained and stormed here, so we were stuck inside. Yuck1

    Like

  7. Love how happy you look in those photos at your park, Katie!

    Like

  8. Katie, did you even notice the dramatic clouds BEHIND you?

    Like

  9. Katie,
    I LOVE you! :)))

    Like

  10. I agree Katie – all weekends should be at least three days long. Also, I’m very glad your dad helped you distract your mom so you could go to the park 🙂

    Like

  11. 3 day weekends should be mandatory! Glad your mama could still walk after doing all that mulching. 🙂

    Like

  12. Love the storm-coming-in photo.

    Like

  13. Bowsers we love the storm-coming photo too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

