Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

It’s Saturday morning…

9 Comments

When Katie and I went to bed last night I told here there was no doggie school or work this morning, so we could sleep in.  No need to get me up by 6, she could relax her guard.  So why was I not surprised at 6:11 this morning to wake up to this:

HI MAMA!

HI MAMA!

I guess eleven more minutes of sleep is better than nothing.  She’s wound up like a clock though, spinning and barking and wanting wanting wanting.

We went outside to explore the garden.  There were freeze warnings last night so I had covered up the plants that are trying to bloom on time this spring.

We put the plants to bed last night!

We put the plants to bed last night!

Yesterday evening before we covered everything up I took a picture of the tree peony just beginning to bloom.  In case it didn’t survive the cold.

Summer begins!

Summer begins!

It survived.  I’m glad, it’s in bloom for such a short time I wanted to enjoy every bit of it.

On our evening walk around the yard I noticed how beautiful the light was making everything.

Last light on the redbud.

Last light on the redbud.

Even the giant oak tree in the neighbor’s yard was beautiful in the evening, bright green leaves against the pure aqua sky.

New leaves shine.

New leaves shine.

But this morning Katie and I will be concentrating not on sits and stays but on moving this:

Compost mulch smells stinky good Mama!

Compost mulch smells stinky good Mama!

Good thing she got me up early.

Hey MAMA!

I’m hungry!

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

9 thoughts on “It’s Saturday morning…

  1. Oh, you do have a pile of work to do! Good thing Katie got you up on time. SHe is an excellent boss.

    It may snow here later today. I’m not going out in the rain to cover my plants though, we’ll just hope for the best.

    Like

  2. don’t you love weekends when your get to “rest and relax” – moving that pile of mulch is going to be so relaxing 🙂 🙂 They are creatures of habit without a doubt…..Katie and Denny share the timing thing…..Denny is like an alarm clock – 5.30 EVERY evening he goes to his dad….makes his funny oh oh noises which is his way of saying he wants a cuddle. The funny thing is …on weekends he dos it at 4.30 and 5.30.

    Like

  3. Beautiful redbud in light and great-looking pile of compost. You’ve got your work cut out for you. I’ve been bringing in plants every night since buying them (flowers in pots and tender annuals waiting to go in the garden bales), but tonight’s low is only for the 40s, so I may let them take their chances. Gotta happen sometime!

    Like

  4. Gee you were up and blogging early today – it is not quite 8:30 as I type this comment and Katie got you up just over 2 hours ago. It got chilly here too, but we didn’t have the freeze warning thank goodness. It is rainy too. Wanted to go out and plant today but I think it will be too raw and wet outside for me to want to do that. Good luck on your mulch pile! Lovely peonies – mine are budding but not blooming just yet.

    Like

  5. Katie knew that you had a huge pile of work waiting for you and wanted you up and at it! 🙂

    Like

  6. I was lucky! Cody and Dakota actually let me sleep til 7!

    Like

  7. It is cold. But I don’t mind, hot to soon doesn’t suit me and it’s not freezing or snowing. It’s hoody weather. My peony are just starting to bloom, but I think they are ok…if not you know what we say in Chicago…there is always next year!
    Happy three day weekend Katie and Dawn!

    Like

  8. I’m sure you had done a good job supervising the adults, Katie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

