Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Rethinking the whole May thing

13 Comments

I take back every nice thing I said about May.  Apparently I should have been weeding our gardens earlier.  Last year we got the perennial bed reorganized and cleaned out…but we ran out of time before we put down mulch.  Turns out we created a perfect spot for a prairie.

Grass overruns the garden

Grass overruns the garden

So I spent most of Saturday and Sunday in this and other flower beds removing weeds and grass.  By hand.  I think I have aggravated carpel tunnel from pulling weeds but this job has no workman’s comp.  My legs feel like I’ve run a very long race and my back is that of a person twice my age.  Oh.  Wait.  I guess you can’t really ever get to be twice my age.  But you know what I mean.

Not perfect.  But better.

Not perfect. But better.

After many hours of hard labor I got most of it cleaned up.  Katie was a big help.  Couldn’t have done it without her.

Dogervising my Mama.

Dogervising my Mama.

Yea.  I’m kidding.

What you talkin' bout Mama?

What you talkin’ bout Mama?

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “Rethinking the whole May thing

  1. Always the problem with spring…not only do all the pretty plants grow….so do all the weeds….only twice as fast it seems

    Like

  2. “Dog help”! The phrase says it all, doesn’t it? I weeded today, too, Dawn, and it about killed my back, but there was a lot of satisfaction to be had from looking at the grass- and dandelion-free beds.

    Like

  3. No, no, don’t take back nice things about May, lol! It is such a lovely time of year! You will feel better soon – even more so when you look out on all your hard work. Love your new header!

    Like

  4. I remember those garden aches and pains from when I last had a sticks and bricks, but the satisfaction was worth it to me. Weed on, woman! 🙂

    Like

  5. I keep hoping that it *will* be possible to live to be twice our age, and in a healthy way, as well. I’ve been reading about it in science fiction stories for decades; surely it’s just around the corner.

    Like

  6. Oh, yes!

    Like

  7. Weeds win every time. I admit I wasn’t all that upset that it rained here all day yesterday – gave me an excuse to be lazy!

    Like

  8. Thank goodness Katie was there to help. We are always grateful our furry one pitch in 😉
    Now that you’re done pulling grass out of your too-hastily mulched bed, wanna come tackle ours? We’re in exactly the same predicament…

    Like

  9. Grass where I don’t want it is an ongoing issue for me. I’m now taking the lazy man’s way out and attacking it with Roundup, hoping it will be a form of mulch/compost in time.

    Like

  10. That’s the problem with gardens — all that weeding! Glad you had a helper. 🙂

    Like

  11. You can’t let a few weeds change your entire opinion of May!! Haha! I hope you didn’t really hurt yourself. Katie looks beautiful helping you. At least she isn’t barking at your every move like a certain tri sheltie here does!

    Like

  12. Go back and re-read your previous day’s post.

    Like

  13. Yep, those weeds are persistent, aren’t they? Even if nothing else is growing, the weeds are ever-present!

    Like

Leave a Reply

