Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

A mid-century girl

15 Comments

I woke up this morning to NPR talking about mass transit for Los Angles.  They were talking about the packed roads, the long commutes and what it would take to change the culture as well as the infrastructure to incorporate mass transit.  They ended the piece by saying there would be mass transit construction projects well into the middle of the century.

Laying there in bed contemplating that I realized the probability that I’d still be around at mid century were slim.  And here these people were talking about something that hadn’t sounded all that far away.  This realization has struck me more and more frequently lately.  Not many weeks ago there was another news story, I forget what it was about, perhaps the exploration of Mars, when I suddenly realized I wouldn’t witness the event.  It’s an odd feeling.

Which brings me to an update on Aunt V who is 97.  She’s home again after her latest stay at a rehab facility.  This one was nice; clean, she had her own room, her own bathroom and she liked the physical therapy.  But she wanted to be home, and home she is again.  She’s determined to get stronger so she will.  She’s like that.

But I wonder what it’s like at 97 when you listen to the news and realize you have so little time ahead of you and so much time behind.  Do you sit overwhelmed by the memories?  Are you still interested in what will happen in the future?  Or are you just waiting when you get to this stage of life?

It’s a puzzle we each get to work out if we’re lucky – how to fit all the pieces of our lives together to get the most out of each.  How to stay engaged when things change.   Maybe the answer is to just live and not worry about any of it.

Maybe that’s the answer.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

15 thoughts on “A mid-century girl

  1. From the title, I expected something about the middle of the 20th century, that period now called (by furniture people) “mid-century modern.”

    It’s interesting to see the differences in people at every age: some elderly people want to be independent, and others want to have everything done for them; some use expanded leisure time to explore other worlds (if only in books and film), while others retreat into self. For the lucky ones, it’s a choice. For others, what happens in the brain decides where the mind will go.

    I hope for a long, green, life-promoting future for our earth, going way beyond my own life span. I like to think of the forests and seas and meadows and hills going on and on.

    Like

  2. Having come face to face with death on more than one occasion – the one thing I have learned is to simply live in the moment. Heck even living one day at time seems to much these days – so moment by moment is the way to go. 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m inspired by folks like your Aunt V. They are treasures for all of us, pointing the way to how to live every day to its fullest. Hopefully, the earth will be thriving long after we’re all gone!

    Like

  4. I think you are right “Maybe the answer is to just live and not worry about any of it.
    Maybe that’s the answer.”

    Like

  5. My dad and husband were out for a bike ride last year, when my dad realized they were close to an old friend of his, someone he hadn’t seen in decades! So, they stopped by for a quick visit.

    My dad told his friend, “We really should get together before we DIE!” They laughed, but Jeff was taken aback.

    I think they both know that time really is a ticking, and we shouldn’t put stuff off, especially time with those we care about.

    Jeff’s grandma is 98, a whippersnapper like Aunt Vi, and she says, “I should be dead by now! That is why our country is so broke. Too many of us old people hanging on.” She’s a pisser.

    I try not to think about age too much, and especially avoid looking at myself in mirrors in direct sunlight!

    I worry about our planet and food sources a lot, but sometimes I think, what am I worrying for….I’ll be dead before it gets real bad! Still, I hope if I hit 97 I still have passion for causes.

    Like

    • I hope I make it to 97 too…and I’m SURE we’ll both have passion for our causes. Your family unlike many knows exactly what it means to not put off time together with family and friends.

      Like

  6. Sometimes thinking about the future is just not productive. I think you’re right on this one: let’s just live 🙂

    Like

  7. Nothing kills the present like worrying about the future or the past. Yes, when I visit my parents I worry about my world without them and then I have to tell myself to stop those thoughts feel like crap and I refuse to allow myself to have them…enough. Yes, I feel sad when I think of Cole growing more and more into a life that does not include me–motherhood has been such a great gig, and then I feel sad because I had planned to weather these times with Joe…and well that didn’t work out either–and then I tell myself STOP these thought feel like crap and are robbing me of the moment. My guess is Aunt Via did not make it to 97 worrying a lot about her future or past…she just kept wanting to get better.
    I don’t think living life like Sally Sunshine is the answer, I just don’t think letting our thoughts rule our lives is helpful. When sad feel sad, but don’t create the sad in advance. Makes sense to me, but I understand if my answers don’t work for anyone else. We all have our own path.
    Good for Aunt Via!!!

    Like

    • I think you have a unique perspective from which to approach this topic and I respect your thought process. I hope you are through with the worst things that can happen to a person!

      Like

  8. The beginning of this post bummed me out – I don’t like to think about all of us getting older. But I am happy that Aunt Vi got to go home! Amazing woman that she is!

    Like

Leave a Reply

