Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Attack of the robins!

12 Comments

Gotta watch out for crazy birds!

Gotta watch out for crazy birds!

Katie and I were outside this morning, just as the sun was coming up.  She was sniffing around looking for the perfect place when from across the street two robins flew up from the lawn, flapping their wings and screeching at each other.  Up and down they flew, chest against chest, then they began chasing each other in larger and larger circles still screeching.   Soon other robins entered the fray, and they all began swooping and diving in a frantic dance.  The swarm of robins burst across the road, diving around our heads, then spun around a tree, then flew back across the road where they all dissipated, each to a separate tree except for two who ended up on the lawn where it all began.

Katie and I looked at each other.  “Well that was weird” I said.   She nodded and finished up what we were out there to do.   We headed inside for breakfast.

Morning peace was restored.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Attack of the robins!

  1. Another sign that spring is finally on its way.

    Like

  2. What a scene! But it sounds so wonderful too!

    Like

  3. That’s really something to find yourself in the middle of! But it appears the sun has come out for you this morning, which is wonderful. My day is starting quite gray here. Hopefullly your sunshine will spread east.

    Like

  4. they were probably having a fit about our weather

    Like

  5. Robins are territorial and scrappy and ready for a fight – I have seen them come to the aid of other birds when needed.

    Like

  6. Darling Dallas loves to chase unsuspecting robins, but I don’t imagine he’d know what to do if they “attacked” like that! We’re more worried about the hawks that swoop overhead.

    Like

  7. Robins – so small, and yet I wouldn’t have walked into that fray!

    Like

  8. Sometimes I wonder how birds survive their squabbles.

    Like

  9. That does indeed sound a little weird, doesn’t it? Barry said he saw two male robins fighting on top of the snow the other night. Wonder how they’re even able to find worms with all this snow? They should have stayed down your way!

    Like

  10. Oh, weird! I bet you barked loads Katie, or were you speechless?
    Have a great week!
    Pippa 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

