Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

It’s raining here

15 Comments

Three killdeer

Three killdeer

I feel like I’ve moved to the Pacific Northwest.  It’s raining here.  Every day we wake up to 35 degrees (1.6 C) and mist.  Or 35 degrees and rain.   It rains off and on all day and all night.  We haven’t seen the sun in so long I’ve forgotten what it looks like.  I have faint memories of walks in the park under a warm sun, but my most recent memories of the park are walking through slush in my winter coat, wearing gloves and telling Katie to hurry up!

Today it’s overcast and 35 degrees.  The week long forecast holds a little hope of warmer temperatures but looks like rain every day.  I guess we can dream.  I have an adventure brewing that would be nicer if the temperatures were above freezing.   And if it doesn’t rain on me that would be extra special.  On the other hand all this rain could be snow, like my friends up north are experiencing. And Duluth Minnesota just got 7 inches of snow with more coming tomorrow.

Maybe I’ll just sit down and be quiet.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

15 thoughts on “It’s raining here

  1. Five minutes after I posted this it has started to snow here. I think I jinxed us.

    Like

  2. Rain, snow, go away…..

    Like

  3. Should I tell you we are enjoying 60 degrees – bright blue skies with no clouds and so sunny and bright sunglasses are a must……..no I couldn’t tell you that 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

  4. I’ll try to bring some warmer weather your way as I head out towards Minnesota on Monday. 🙂

    Like

  5. The weather has been gorgeous here. Too gorgeous. We are very low on rainfall–wildflowers came early and have pretty much dried up already, when April is often an excellent time for wildflowers. Everyone knows that, whatever weather you have, you wish it were different. 🙂

    Like

  6. I know the feeling Dawn. It has been gray here too. Rain on and off, but I am thankful for no recent snow. I keep thinking about places I could have an adventure too if the weather would just cooperate with a little warmth.

    Like

  7. Oh, and your new header is adorable. 🙂

    Like

  8. I’ve seen all the rain on the radar in your area. April showers bring May flowers? If you get some warmer temps and some sun. Hope things change for the better soon!

    Like

  9. I thought we talked about this. Now I know the forecast and it’s bad news 😉
    Yes, your friends to the north have more snow. We had ice pellets that stacked up yesterday to look like snow, and then last night we got a couple of inches, and it’s still snowing. Ah well. Better the snow now than the premature heat wave of last winter that destroyed the farming industry. We’ll look for a silver lining somewhere, because lord knows the sun isn’t outlining anything in the area!

    Like

  10. since we are also in Michigan believe me we feel your pain. Will it EVER stop raining? You are right…rain is forecast ALL week

    Like

  11. Poor Dawn, poor Katie! So hard to live with a Sheltie-on-the-go when the weather’s awful. They keep telling us Spring is coming. But 40 degrees with a stiff wind doesn’t feel much like Spring to me.

    Like

  12. We are crying out, “Will it ever stop SNOWING?” We did get a couple of very brief, totally unexpected, and completely, miraculously joyous bursts of sunshine, though. Yes, the weather will turn! Maybe NEXT weekend it will be beautiful!

    Like

  13. It snowed today. Not a lot, but too much for April and it has rained here just like there for days with some heavy storms. The sun peeked out today and I greeted it warmly, but it didn’t stick around. And it’s cold. And mud…want to talk about the pitter patter of furry muddy feet? There are not enough towels in the world. Oh well, I’ll hang in, if you will.

    Like

  14. Ahhh, Mother Nature and her temper tantrums!

    Like

  15. Rain in the “south” and snow in the “north”…can we just have some sunshine? Please?

    Like

Leave a Reply

