Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Mama went and registered me for another trial!

10 Comments

Don't hate me because I'm beautiful.

Don’t hate me because I’m beautiful.

Katie here.  You know, first Mama goes and visits Ricky without me.  Then she takes me to school and tells me I have to pay attention more because she’s registered me for another trial and we have to get focused.

And then she brings CHICKEN to school and I’m so crazy I can hardly stand it.  She says she thinks I’m a little too motivated with the chicken and says maybe she’ll go back to cheese.  I say, how can  I be TOO motivated anyway!?!  Mamas are crazy.

So anyway, Mama registered me for my very first obedience trial!  Ha!  Like she thinks I’m going to be obedient?  Me?  I’m a princess….in case any of you have forgotten.  I do what I want when I want to.  Unless there’s cheese or even better chicken.  Then I do exactly what my Mama wants right away.  I guess I can be bought.

The trial is Sunday April 28 at an arena about an hour away.  Wish us luck everybody!  We’ve got a couple of weeks to practice.  Mama says she doesn’t have to memorize any crazy signs and all I have to do is heel when she says to heel and watch her.  I suppose I can do that.  Oh.  And come when she calls.  And sit when I’m supposed to sit.  And stand when I’m supposed to stand.  And not be afraid of the judge even when she touches me!  But those long sits and downs?  I got that, no problem.

I may be a princess…but I am an educated princess.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

10 thoughts on “Mama went and registered me for another trial!

  1. We know u will be pawsome at the trial thingy.

    Like

  2. Yep – you will be just fine Miss Katie Princess – it’s the Mom that is the problem 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

  3. You are going to be awesome doing obedience! Remember there will be chicken when it is all over! Chicken, Katie, chicken!!!!

    Like

  4. “Obedience” means your mama has to obey YOU Katie, not the other way around. Hopefully your mom behaves herself at the trial 🙂

    Like

  5. You’ll both be great. That’s my prediction.

    Like

  6. I’m sure you’ll be the star at the trial, beautiful Katie! I do hope your mom knows exactly what she needs to bring with her that day.

    Like

  7. Katie I am sure you’ll do wonderfully. How can you not with all that chicken on the line? 😉

    Like

  8. Katie, we all know that if there are problems, it won’t be your fault! Make sure your mama practicies a lot – you’ll probably have to really pay attention to her to be sure she does it right. Maybe you could give her a glass of wine if she does well?

    Like

  9. Katie, you are one beautiful princess! Just think of that trial as an opportunity to show everybody your stuff!!

    Like

  10. Good Luck, you are going to be ace, and maybe you’ll get some paw-licking good chicken afterwards!
    Pippa 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

