Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

See you at the movies

14 Comments

I felt, as many did, that I lost a friend when Roger Ebert died yesterday.  I remember watching his show growing up, enjoying the sparring between Gene Siskel and Roger.  How many of us made our movie viewing decisions based on their thumbs?

I also read Roger’s blog pretty regularly.  And I was sad when he said just the other day that he was going to take a “leave of presence” while he fought back cancer once again.  He wrote about a lot of things, not always movies.  In fact not a whole lot about movies.  He was always interesting, sometimes poignant, sometimes funny.  He wrote as if we were all his friends.  I hope we were.

I like to think that perhaps he and Gene are catching up now, perhaps working on a new project together.  And if heaven is perfect and different for everyone, then I’m sure there’s a movie theater there.   I hope they get to see all the first run movies together — and before any of us.

I’ll miss him as will many of you.  But weren’t we lucky to have known him at all.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

14 thoughts on “See you at the movies

  1. He will indeed b be missed. I still miss Gene Siskel, who’s been gone for many years.

    Like

  2. A legend.

    I love how writers tend to write all the way up until their death. For them, it must not be “work”, but simply personal expression.

    Like

  3. this was really a beautiful post. I am sure he is smiling right now. They will both be terribly missed.

    Like

  4. It is always sad when we lose someone we kind of grew up with – I didn’t know of Roger…..but have felt the same way way when many of the movie legends have passed away.

    Like

  5. Lovely tribute to a fascinating man, Dawn! It’s always sad when one of our childhood heroes passes on. Lots of us made our movie decisions based on his and Gene’s recommendations.

    Like

  6. You know, I was surprised at how sad I was at the news of his passing. He was so freaking courageous and even after disfiguring surgeries, his voice never quieted. He kept writing, kept keepin’ on. I actually cried.

    Like

  7. A very brave man.. .did you see this post (on Facebook/twitter)
    Kindness covers all of my political beliefs. No need to spell them out. I believe that if, at the end, according to our abilities, we have done something to make others a little happier, and something to make ourselves a little happier, that is about the best we can do. To make others less happy is a crime. To make ourselves unhappy is where all crime starts. We must try to contribute joy to the world. That is true no matter what our problems, our health, our circumstances. We must try. I didn’t always know this and am happy I lived long enough to find it out.” – Roger Ebert

    Like

Leave a Reply

