Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

I heard the red-winged sing

13 Comments

Daffy Daffodils

Daffy Daffodils

The weather guy forecasts more cold days, maybe even some snow for the coming week.  But I’m not discouraged.  We were momentarily in the 50’sF (10 C) on Friday and again today.  We saw a tiny bit of sun.  And repeatedly I’ve heard and seen the sand hill crane screeching across the sky.

But today I heard the red-winged blackbird sing which is proof positive that it is spring regardless of the weather guy’s prediction.  On a quick tour of the yard Katie and I found even more evidence; little bits of green poking their heads cautiously out of the mulch.

Sedum hides beneath the fall leaves.

Sedum hides beneath the fall leaves.

Brave little souls aren’t they.

Poppies poke nervously toward summer.

Poppies poke nervously toward summer.

Katie and I went looking for the snowdrops we know come up behind the house, and there they were!  Fewer this year but still blooming their little hearts out for us.

It's springtime in their hearts.

It’s springtime in their hearts.

And the clincher that it must be spring?

Almost got him!

Almost got him!

Katie chased her season’s first chipmunk up the drainpipe.

Yep, we’ll probably be roasting hotdogs on the grill any day now.

Geranium greets spring.

Geranium greets spring.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “I heard the red-winged sing

  1. We rolled the grill out today! Hoping to turn it on this week. May have to wear a hat and gloves, but I’m determined.

    Like

  2. You get em Katie – pesky little chip munks even though they are awfully cute. Yep spring is definable coming – eventually, maybe soon 🙂 🙂

    Like

  3. Mommy wished she knew how to fix a drain pipe properly. She likes how your drains away from the house on an angle. Mommy put together some sort of contraption with duct tape. It works about 70 percent from what we can tell. Still needs more thought and work to get it draining right.

    Like

  4. Definite signs of Spring for sure even if the temps and precipitation don’t quite make it so. My daffodils have started blooming now. The sun of the past few days brought them out!

    Like

  5. Happy Easter. We had a busy day and figure you were busy too.

    Essex & Sherman

    Like

  6. Spring has sure been slow this year. Its usually well into the 70’s by now and we keep having 50s. The sad part for us is it will just skip spring and hit 90’s. Ugh>

    Like

  7. Spring has Sprung. Hope springs eternal. There is light at the end of the tunnel. And no matter what the weather bring..we will weather it together. This winter has reduced me to a bundle of trite clichés, it seems.

    Like

  8. Your post holds such hope 🙂
    I’m happy to see all the little budding plants in your yard; surely that means mine aren’t far behind!

    Like

  9. I LOVE that picture of Katie!! Dallas has been chasing the neighbor’s squirrels for a couple of days now, as they prepare for mating and nesting season. It’s still COLD here, but the weather folks keep promising (taunting!) us Spring. Nature seems to know it’s ready, though. Hang in there, Dawn — it’s coming!

    Like

  10. chipmunks!!! That’s ace!!! Katie, you go get them all, girl, and save some for me!
    By the way, your babel ball video didn’t work for me! 😦 I’ll try again later.
    Hope you had a great easter!
    Pippa 🙂

    Like

  11. I have been on pins and needles waiting for spring to arrive. (Darn, that silly groundhog!) Happy Spring to you!

    Like

  12. Your spring is back!!! I always love those dainty snowdrops, they are so beautiful.

    Like

  13. Yay for spring! Let’s keep those signs coming. That’s a really cool perspective shot on the sedum in your header.
    We grilled burgers yesterday! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

