Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Update on Aunt V.

23 Comments

Aunt Vi Uncle Warren 2010 005 (Small)We stopped in at the rehab facility where husband’s Aunt is doing physical therapy after her latest fall.  She cracked the same hip she broke in 2001.  She’s ninety-seven now and too old for surgery, so they’re doing rehab and letting nature heal the hip.

She’s been at the facility for about four weeks now.  It’s brand new, clean and she has her own room, so it’s light years ahead of the place she was in a couple years ago after surgery.  She seems content here and is in less of a hurry to go home, knowing that she’ll get more therapy here than she will with a home visiting therapist a couple of times a week.  She can’t walk without help yet, so that is her main goal.

She was very spirited tonight, talkative, fully engaged.  Other than the walking thing she’s back 100%.  She is amazing.  She talked about the rehab facilities, saying they have a machine for everything, and she particularly likes riding the bike.  Really.  Riding the bike?  She says it’s just like going to the gym and working out.  Not that I can imagine Aunt V actually going to a gym and working out.  But still….amazing.

So we shall see where all this leads.  At the beginning I really didn’t think she’d be going home.  Statistically cracking a hip at 97 is not a good thing.  But once again she has proven me wrong.  You’d think I’d learn to never underestimate her.

The photo above is from a couple of years ago.  She’d kill me if I took a picture of her right now as she hasn’t been able to do her hair.   The picture below is from her 97th birthday last September.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

23 thoughts on “Update on Aunt V.

  1. Aunt Vi is a superhero!

    Like

  2. Aunt Vi is a gem. Sending her lots of healing wishes.

    Like

  3. It’s good when the good news (recovery) comes after the bad news (bone crack). Does Aunt Vi know how many fans she has in the blogosphere?

    Like

  4. Aunt Vi is an inspiration. Glad to know she is doing so well and hope that hip heals so she can walk again!

    Like

  5. The power of the mind…it can keep us going and surprise us all. Lots of good vibes heading aunt v’s way

    Like

  6. Aunt V is amazing! Lots of healing vibes are on the way to her.

    Like

  7. There is no way your Aunt V is 97 – not if those photos are to be believed! She reminds me of my great Aunt Lorene (who happens to have been the first owner of my middle name). Does she ever stop? Aunt Lorene volunteered at various places in her community through her late 80’s and early 90’s. Best wishes to Aunt V. Hoping she walks without aid in the near future, and in the meantime, hooray for that attitude!

    Like

    • Everyone says she doesn’t look her age. She’s loved that for the past 20 or so years…maybe more. She tells us all the time who has stopped by and who among the medical staff explained over how good she looks. The whole family of sisters (my mother-in-law included) were all extraordinary looking. She is the last of them…and was the second oldest of 8 or 9 children.

      Like

  8. Aunt V is my hero! I want to be just like her when I grow up. Thank you so much for sharing her.

    Like

  9. Good for Aunt V — what a heroine she is! I hope I’m that blessed at 97! Your husband is fortunate he comes from such a long and sturdy line. Thanks for the update on her progress — here’s hoping she’ll be walking again real soon!

    Like

  10. We hope your aunt has a speedy recovery.

    Like

  11. Im so glad she is doing well!!

    Like

  12. Rock on Aunt V! Glad to hear she is on the road to recovery.

    Like

Leave a Reply

