Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Worrisome culture

22 Comments

Last week PJ, over on her Books in Northport blog, talked about worrying, where it comes from, whether or not we can stop.  If it does any good.  At first I thought I didn’t worry that much.  And I told her that the worst things that had ever happened to our family happened suddenly with no warning and since that time I had not worried much because I didn’t think anything worse could happen.

But now I wonder.

Is it true I don’t worry much anymore?  Or do I just not recognize it as worry because it’s such a natural process after years of…well…worry?  Is what I consider good planning just another way of worrying?  Are the lists I make before a trip actually physical proof of my worry?

When I turn away from the national news, not wanting to hear more am I really just stuffing worry back down inside?  Did the great recession reactivate worry that had been lurking in the far reaches of my mind and cause me to go back to work?  Is this really my worry, or am I shouldering a cultural worry fueled by twenty-four seven news reiterating the concerns of our nation and the entire world?

Has worry become so prevalent that I don’t even recognize it as such anymore?   Or has age softened my brain to the point that I just don’t know I’m worried?  Should I worry about this?

Maybe I’m just not a worrier.  Or maybe ignorance is bliss.

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

22 thoughts on “Worrisome culture

  1. I think it all about degrees – from a little worry – to massive worry …the word ‘worry’ sounds bad and yet is covers all degrees. is a little worry just pondering on something …is a massive worry fretting or fearful? Is there a difference between an open worrier or someone that keeps it all inside? I think the older I get the less I worry about things I can not personally change…its an odd viewpoint but also reality. I …me…the one individual cannot change the debt problem of this country….I know a whole bunch (like millions of me – individuals) could change things…but we don’t tend to have that consensus thinking anymore and sadly ‘movements’ of likes minding individuals are often viewed now as being radical crazies…..so instead many of us are just happy in our own small worlds not worrying much about the crazy world out there – ostrich with its head in the sand analogy.

    Like

  2. 24 hour news/weather is breeding worry. Apparently, making people worry is good for business.

    I believe that worry manifests itself in our body. If you’re feeling healthy, then you’re probably not worrying too much.

    Like

  3. Dawn, I hope I didn’t leave anyone with the impression that planning is worrying. My husband sometimes tells me not to worry when I’m only taking measures and making plans to eliminate sources of worry. I’ve been thinking about the “big stuff” in the news and will do a post on that coming up soon, but I do ration the time I spend dwelling on those issues. Somewhere between ignorant denial and anxious obsession is where I’m trying to live. You, for instance, are not about to drop your truck safety advocacy for the bliss of unconcern. I know you better than that!

    Sara’s remark is interesting — that worry is good for business. I’d say good for some, not good for other kinds of business, but there’s no doubt that political attempts to manipulate the populace depend in large part on worry and fear.

    Big topic! But it’s the weekend, so have some fun, eh?

    Like

  4. Im a worrier. Not all the time but when my kids are on the road to and from college – I worry. If they are sick and other things. It just part of life.

    Like

  5. Big worrier here and a big planner. But I try not to worry about that. 🙂

    Like

  6. Oh gosh, now I’m going to worry that I worry too much. Or not enough. What is really classified as “worry” anyway?

    Like

  7. My mother says, “worrying works, the things I worry about never happen.” Like you, when my life abruptly changed, I became acutely aware how little control we have over our lives and for the most part stopped worrying. When I worry it means I’m not living in the present moment, so I try to bring my thoughts back to now–and now is usually just fine or can be dealt with by taking action. I don’t watch or listen to the news, look out my window to find out the weather, and tell people flat out that I don’t want to talk about kids being killed in driving accidents because there are no words, and I can offer up a prayer without discussion.
    You don’t strike me as a worrier (if you don’t mind an opinion) and I don’t think it has anything to do with ignorance. : -D

    Like

    • I tend to agree with your mother….which makes worry more like a superstition…doesn’t it? I agree also that worrying doesn’t make us happier, nor fix things…so I try not to do too much of it. Still, some worry seems to be in my genes.

      Like

  8. I’m a worrier, a worse one according to my family. I worry and then I’m stressed.

    Like

  9. I come from a long line of worriers, Dawn, and every day is an effort to break the cycle. When I find myself stressing over things I can’t control, I turn to prayer. Or to a creative pursuit (like my novel-writing or beading). Or I pick up Dallas’s leash and head outside. It’s hard not to worry when that’s what you’ve grown up with — and when so many things seem totally beyond our control. But I’ve heard it said that worrying is like sitting in a rocking chair. You’re moving but not getting anywhere. I don’t think going back to work is a bad thing — sometimes the routine nature of work helps to calm our minds.

    Like

    • I don’t think all worry is bad either. It can make you do constructive things that you might not have gotten around to. But overwhelming worry can have destructive power. Glad you have Dallas and your writing and your beading to work on/with! 🙂

      Like

  10. I don’t think I’m a terrible worrier, but I am a planner. I don’t think they’re the same thing. I’m not worried about it even if they are 🙂

    Like

  11. I am sorry–am kind of smiling. A tiny bit. How our minds can circle! Are we worriers or not? If we’re relatively happy, satisfied and going with the flow of Life, we’re probably not excessive worriers. If it doesn’t feel like we’re flourishing, maybe there’s a part of us that’s worrying or stifling down Life. I’m still stifling down life somewhat, but working on it.

    Like

    • It WAS written tongue in cheek so it’s OK to smile! I think I’m a quasi-worrier. I worry over some stuff but not over other stuff. And it isn’t always the same stuff I worry about. I like to keep people (and me) guessing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

