Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Restless barn addition

22 Comments

I was restless today.  I needed to be out there doing something.  Alone.  Do you ever long for an adventure just for yourself?  The sky was blue but it was cold as mid March is want to be in Michigan.   I took the camera and left with no destination in mind.

I ended up, as I usually do, in farm country.  I didn’t find a lot that inspired me enough to want to get out of the warm car.  But I found two barns for my collection.

It's huge.

It’s huge.

These are not my family’s barns.  I really do need to do that…photograph the house and barns where my mom grew up.  But these two caught my eye among the many barns I saw today.

It's bright.

It’s bright.

My adventure was not so exciting.  But it was mine.

And that’s what counts.

Old

Old

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

22 thoughts on “Restless barn addition

  1. Any adventure that involves a barn is a good adventure. (Go ahead and count this as a gentle nudge to your family farm 🙂 )

    Like

  2. It is quite amazing how these old barns have withstood the test of time. Clearly they were built with love.

    Like

  3. Your need of a solitary adventure makes sense to me, Dawn. We’ve been having a one-vehicle winter, and I’m longing for spring to get out on the back roads with my camera — and by myself! Love my pack but the occasional break does everyone good. And it’s easier to stop and get the photograph you want if you’re the driver.

    Like

  4. The red barn is really eye-catching. In Rosie’s school, the students play badminton in one of the barns.

    Like

  5. Old barns are always so interesting! I also really like the sky in both these photos!

    Like

  6. I have WAY to many days when I just want and need to be alone (Aussie’s call it going walk-a-bout). Dave and I were just discussing this ‘need to be out” last night. Friday we went to Memphis and although we just went to the dentist and visited a few shops it just felt good to get out the ‘rutt’.

    Like

    • I think wandering in Memphis would be fun. We went once…I think there is a park there with the Mississippi river done in concrete that you can wade in. I think.

      Like

  7. Old buildings are so fascinating – I’d love to hear the stories they could tell. Good for you for taking time for just you – I think it’s called a “sanity saver”.

    Like

  8. Love the red barn! And you’re right — sometimes, we just need to go off by ourselves. Kind of hard to do with a fur-child who wants to go along, too!

    Like

  9. Coming back to ask: Is “restless barn” a syndrome?

    Like

  10. There was a barn on a field by my house once. It was falling down and abandoned. They knocked it down and built more houses on that land. Mommy misses looking at the old barn. It looked more peaceful than having expensive homes to look at.

    Like

  11. Yes! I often long for a solitary adventure! I hope to make that happen more often when the weather gets nicer since I am so uninspired at this time of the year. Thanks for sharing your day!

    Like

  12. Great barn pictures. We were looking for the owls though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

