Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Another weekend another park!

13 Comments

I walked a long way!

I walked a long way!

Good morning everybody!  Katie here.  My Mama took me to the park again yesterday, but I can only give you the short version because she says she has to go to work and doesn’t have time for all this dictation.

So anyway, we went to my favorite park, but there was so much snow melting that we ran into this:

Pretty wet out here Mama!

Pretty wet out here Mama!

I said we could go right through it but my Mama is a wuss and said it was too deep.  So she bundled me up and we went to another park.

This one was a lot dryer and there were lots and lots of people there, riding their bikes and running and walking with their dogs and other peoples.  I was very very good.  We practiced some distracted heeling…cause I was distracted until I remembered the treats!

Got treats Mama?

Got treats Mama?

We walked a long way.  See that first picture up there?  What?  You don’t believe I walked over 7 miles?  Huh.  So you know me pretty good don’t you.  Yep we walked one mile and then we turned around…and since it’s four miles to the end of the trail and 4 miles back on our way back to the car we could pretend we walked the whole way!

One mile is still a long way!

One mile is still a long way!

Oh hey!  I almost forgot to tell you!  We were almost back at the parking lot and this family was just starting out with a big standard size black poodle.  The dog was all over the place.  The Dad was busy texting someone and the Mom was trying to get the dog under control.  My Mama told me to “HEEL!” and “watch her” and I did, I walked right by the spinning black dog without looking at it!

And you know what the Dad said after they got by me?  He said, “Did you see that dog?  That was a good dog, did you hear her say watch me and the dog watched her!  Why can’t you do that?”   And my Mama laughed out loud.  Yes she did.  Cause she and I know that doesn’t just happen without a lot of work.

I'm a good girl!

I’m a good girl!

But I am a very good girl.  Yes I am.  Now I need a nap.  All this talking so early in the morning wears me out.  Too bad Mama has to go do that work thing.

Yep.  Too bad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

13 thoughts on “Another weekend another park!

  1. Good girl Katie! An awesome long walk at the park with tons of distractions and you watched your mama! Impressive!

    Like

  2. Awwww, Katie, look at you being a role model for other dogs.

    Glad you two had a good time!

    Like

  3. look at you you beautiful Sheltie girl!!! I wish you lived near me. I go to the park too but I often sit down stubbornly after walking just so far, and I refuse to move! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    Like

  4. You’re a super duper good girl, Katie! All the hard work had paid off and I’m so glad that a lot of treats are involved in it too.

    Like

  5. Wow — sounded like a pawsome walk. 1 mile or 7 miles. Still sounded pawsome.

    Like

  6. Well of coarse you showed up all the other dogs – you the PERFECT Miss Katie – and a princess to boot – you have to be a role model!

    Like

  7. Katie, you are REALLY a good girl! I am impressed by you AND your mama!

    Like

  8. Katie, you’re SUCH a good girl, and I love seeing your furs blowing in the breezes! Dallas, sadly, doesn’t mind as well as Katie (you’re right, it DOES take a lot of work!), but he’s not as bad as the poodle, either! It looks like she’s wearing a collar to walk — Dallas has to use a harness, for collars tend to slip right off (leaving mama holding an empty leash!)

    Like

  9. Katie and Dawn, I am so impressed that you walked seven miles! That is no small accomplishment.

    Like

  10. Good girl Katie. You are so smart.

    Like

  11. Katie you are such a good girl. I’m so happy you were able to get out even with all the melting muck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

