Change Is Hard

…but change is certain.

Waiting for spring

12 Comments

Weather people say it will reach 50 (10 C) today.  So what if it might rain a little too…we’re still excited.

It’s been a long winter and I am not alone in waiting impatiently for spring.

Stoically waiting for spring.

Stoically waiting for spring.

Lately it seems even inanimate objects are waiting….waiting…

Lonely slide

Lonely slide

…waiting for the first soft spring breeze tinged with warmth.

But there is hope.  Yesterday on the way to doggie school I spotted a red winged blackbird preening in the top of a tree.  I haven’t heard them yet but I am sure I will today when Katie and I go to the park to play.

Missing the children

Missing the children

In fact last weekend while Katie and I were scuttling around avoiding the bitter wind I’m almost sure I heard a sandhill crane’s cry.  And earlier in the week I’m almost positive I saw two of them standing on the ice in a marshy area as I was driving to work.  I just caught them out of the corner of my eye but I’m sure those were cranes and not geese.   Almost sure.

Right now our morning backyard still has snow. (Click on photo to ‘see the light.’)

Morning sheds light on hope

Morning sheds light on hope

But we’re betting on the weather guy that this afternoon will be amazing. And we listen to Mr. Cardinal as he sings with joy.

Ode to joy

Ode to joy

Author: dawnkinster

I'm a long time banker having worked in banks since the age of 17. I took a break when I turned 50 and went back to school. I graduated right when the economy took a turn for the worst and after a year of library work found myself unemployed. I was lucky that my previous bank employer wanted me back. So here I am again, a long time banker. Change is hard.

12 thoughts on “Waiting for spring

  1. Enjoy the warmth today! Spring is definitely right around the corner.

    Like

  2. we promise you that Spring IS coming!!!!!
    Love the photo of the “child-less swings”” the best…..so touching

    Like

  3. we had a wonderful warm sunny 70 degrees yesterday – had a wonderful day – today is still on the 60’s but going to rain all day. Spring is coming for sure – my rose is covered in new shoots

    Like

  4. My yard is a slushy mess, but most of the snow is gone, and only a few slick patches remain. It has not really been a cold Chicago winter, just unrelenting grey skies and snow flurries without much overall accumulation…although last weeks storm upped our snow average. I don’t like hot weather but I sure am ready for a sunshine! Great swing picture.
    Hope you and Katie have fun at the park.

    Like

  5. Spring is coming, yes it is! Because we really really need it to come. Soon.

    Like

  6. Dawn, I hope you and Katie get some of that warmth — it’s been a LONG winter, hasn’t it? Today got to nearly 60 here! Most of the icky snow has melted and, though we’re supposed to get rain tonight, Dallas and I got out and took a nice walk!

    Like

  7. Today it was 63 and I have never seen so many neighbors out at once – no one wants to wait for Spring any longer!

    Like

  8. Take care Spring will come.

    Like

  9. Gosh, you are further along toward spring than we are. This can be a waiting time of year, can’t it? Looking forward to when the sandhill cranes return.

    Like

  10. That playground sure looked lonely. Hope spring comes soon for u.

    Like

  11. Yesterday it was spring; today it’s winter again. I shall not get my hopes up just yet.

    Like

  12. This seems to be a common theme around the blogosphere! I think we are all snowed-out and have spring fever! March is a tough month of transition – thanks for showing hints that spring is on the way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

